Author Topic: avast! Home 4.7 and Ad-aware conflict  (Read 5495 times)

badak

avast! Home 4.7 and Ad-aware conflict
« on: November 29, 2006, 03:34:04 PM »
After my virus database updated last night (Nov.28,06), I ran Ad-aware (full system scan) and encountered a false positive with the temp files Ad-aware creates when running (BlackBox.class, Dummy.class, VerifierBug.class, Beyond.class).

I've been using avast home for about 6 months now and haven't encountered any conflicts while running Ad-aware before.

I've tried excluding the Ad-aware temp files and folder (C:\Documents and Settings\xxx\Local Settings\Temp\AAWTMP\*.class) from avast, but my exclusion did not work; avast still scanned the subfolders where these temp files are created.

I have been able to duplicate this problem on three different computers so far.

Any help in resolving this conflict would be appreciated.

System Specs.;
Pentium 4 3.4Ghz, 2MB RAM
Windows XP Pro SP2 (all updates installed)
avast! Home 4.7-892
VPS file: 0651-2

« Last Edit: November 29, 2006, 03:50:35 PM by badak »

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast! Home 4.7 and Ad-aware conflict
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2006, 03:54:23 PM »
The temp folder where you say the infection was detected it where adaware unpacks stuff and when the scan is complete adaware empties it, so you won't find anything there.

I advise pausing Standard Shield whilst carrying out any other security scan. Not only will this stop this type of possible detection of virus signatures from the other program, it will also stop duplication of scanning as avast looks over the shoulder of the other program. This will also reduce the time taken for the scan.

As far as exclusions go you probably haven't added it to the Standard Shield, Customize, Advanced, Add, exclusions list.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2006, 03:56:40 PM by DavidR »