Author Topic: Delete/Move to Chest Confirmation  (Read 2532 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

james5272

  • Guest
Delete/Move to Chest Confirmation
« on: December 04, 2006, 04:51:28 PM »
Hello,

I'm using the free Home Edition of Avast. Is there any way for me to set it to automatically move detected threats to the chest, as opposed to having to sit at my computer while it scans? If so, how do I do this?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88156
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Delete/Move to Chest Confirmation
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 05:35:55 PM »
These advanced automated options are only available in the Pro version.

The interactive input requirement is a limitation of the free product, however, after the first detection you can tick the box don't show this warning (or words to that effect), so it will continue to the end of the scan and present you with a list of infected files requiring action (move to the chest being the safest option, 'first do no harm').

However, after you have run this first run this on-demand scan the pain should be lessened as the Resident scanners should keep infection off your system so it shouldn't be there to be caught by the on-demand scan.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.9.6082 (build 23.9.8494.792) UI 1.0.781/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67199
Re: Delete/Move to Chest Confirmation
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2006, 08:48:27 PM »
These advanced automated options are only available in the Pro version.
See picture here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=13315.msg112285#msg112285

In Home version you can check the option "Don't show this window again" as soon as the first virus warning appears, and click on "No action" button. This way, nothing will be done and you will be presented the results at the end (and you can perform actions from there). Or you can use Silent Mode:

Left click the 'a' blue icon.
It will start On-access protection

Click on Internet Mail and then on Customize.
Go to Advanced tab and select Silent Mode and the default answer No. This will send the file (email) to Chest.

Do the same for the and Outlook/Exchange plugin.
The answer Yes in Silent Mode keeps the virus in the file or into the message (attach) and continue the scanning. You can't configure 'delete the infected file' in the Home version.

You can do the same for Standard Shield provider, but it won't be a good idea...

Silent mode in the case of the WebShield provider simply means that avast will keep pressing the "Abort connection" button for hte user automatically.
The best things in life are free.

james5272

  • Guest
Re: Delete/Move to Chest Confirmation
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2006, 09:50:57 PM »
Thanks guys.  :)