Author Topic: Avast using too much memory?  (Read 16322 times)

Liz

Avast using too much memory?
« on: February 01, 2004, 09:50:35 PM »
Hi all, I am new to Avast (after Norton and McAfee) and it seems to work really well in many ways.  

However, I also use CallWave internet answering machine, and it won't work when Avast is running.  I get a message saying I don't have anymore memory available, so I don't get to hear my messages.  I am using a Dell 350 with only 64 ram memory.  Is there anything I can do, short of adding ram to my computer, to get around this?

Also, when I surf the net for a while my computer runs slower and slower.  Once it nearly froze and it took me a long time to even shut down my computer.  Is there anything I can do about this (I know I can reboot, but apart from that?)

thanks
Liz  :-\

Offline .: Mac :.

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
Re:Avast using too much memory?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2004, 10:24:23 PM »
Well my dad uses avast and he only has 32 meg of ram and it works fine for him. you could try a memory recovery program like memturbo
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

stevejrc

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2004, 11:01:59 PM »
This memory defragger is good, easy to use and automatic, no complex settings (copy to address bar): http://www.snapfiles.com/get/fastdefrag.html

Try running less applications at a time or add another 64mb RAM at least to meet the minimum requirements of most modern software.

techie101

« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2004, 12:53:29 AM »
Liz,

Hello again.  Mac and Steve are unfortunately correct.
Avast does use a bit more memory than some competitors, but as you have found out, does a far superior job.  It uses what it uses depending on what it is doing.

64mb of RAM might be sufficient if you are running bare bones applications.

Review the list of programs in your Start Up file like this:
Start/Run...type in MSCONFIG and enter.