Author Topic: Virus detected unable to move to chest  (Read 6254 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nursebeardave

  • Guest
Virus detected unable to move to chest
« on: November 23, 2006, 05:37:08 PM »
When i did a scan  it alerted me to  a virus  and when itried to move it to the chest  a message told me  there was no room on my E drive  what should I do ? to solve the problem . ???

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2006, 06:16:46 PM »
In with drive is avast installed? On C or E?
Which is the size of the file and the maximum size of the Chest allowed?
The best things in life are free.

mauserme

  • Guest
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2006, 06:44:23 PM »
Is E: a fixed or removable drive??

nursebeardave

  • Guest
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2006, 04:08:34 AM »
fixed drive , how do you find  which drive you set avast to? After that scan i checked the infected files and the box  was empty so i take it the virus was removed ?  Many thanks for your help.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2006, 12:25:48 PM »
fixed drive , how do you find  which drive you set avast to?
Not set to but install to...
Generally C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\

After that scan i checked the infected files and the box  was empty so i take it the virus was removed ?
Can you schedule a boot-time scanning?
Start avast! > Right click the skin > Schedule a boot-time scanning.
Select for scanning archives.
Boot.  :)
The best things in life are free.

nursebeardave

  • Guest
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2006, 05:19:04 PM »
I have sceduled aboot time scanning and have increased the size of my chest the only other thing was  on the boot time scan i was given a option of something ask for confirmation in the lower box i left it ask for confirmation is that right ?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2006, 06:01:43 PM »
I have sceduled aboot time scanning and have increased the size of my chest the only other thing was  on the boot time scan i was given a option of something ask for confirmation in the lower box i left it ask for confirmation is that right ?
Yes. Let the system files action to be asked... Before moving or sending any system file to Chest, if you can, go to another computer and ask for help here again, posting the name and the path of the infected file.
The best things in life are free.

nursebeardave

  • Guest
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2006, 06:47:20 PM »
I did a boot scan and when i looked at the end result after the scan  I looked in the virus chest  and clicked on system files and in there there was 4 lines of kernal32dll
 and un the main box C:/windows / system 32 and the dates last chaged and transfer times , what does this indicate?.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2006, 08:00:13 PM »
I hope you're talking about kernel32.dll and not kernal32.dll.
The first one, on System folder, it's there just for backup purposes.
The different times and dates could be done to operational system updates.
You should check the infected folder of the Chest to see any infected file.
The best things in life are free.

nursebeardave

  • Guest
problem on going wirh scan to C drive
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2006, 03:57:49 PM »
in an earlier post i was asked to check if avast was set to my programme files in c drive it is there.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: problem on going wirh scan to C drive
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2006, 07:58:04 PM »
in an earlier post i was asked to check if avast was set to my programme files in c drive it is there.
Where? Can you post the full path? The problem could be accented characters on the path name, that's the reason of our questions.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89428
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2006, 09:11:13 PM »
nursebeardave, has defected to another AV so I doubt there is much point in chasing this any further.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Virus detected unable to move to chest
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2006, 09:14:35 PM »
nursebeardave, has defected to another AV so I doubt there is much point in chasing this any further.
I've read in other thread...
So, let's live  ;D
The best things in life are free.