Author Topic: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.932)  (Read 114992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

njoys1life

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #30 on: January 01, 2007, 12:43:51 AM »
     Beta working great here, no glitches yet, pc is even booting a little faster, Thanks Alwil Team ;D

Maeng

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #31 on: January 01, 2007, 04:05:59 AM »
The 4.7.925 beta has been working greatly on my machine, I feel avast! is now a bit lighter than ever.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #32 on: January 01, 2007, 11:52:45 AM »
Working well on an AMD 64 Dual core, only a small difference in scan time, probably in the order of 10%

jamesvaul

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #33 on: January 01, 2007, 02:31:08 PM »
When I clicked on the first exe
Which exe?

After the avast 4.7.925 installation, the KPF4 GUI crashed and I've seen a red avast pop-up message!  :'(
Do you mean after booting?

After the reboot it seems to work fine.
Does the problem continues or it's solved?

I downloaded aswbeta.exe and executed it, then my user has been forced logged off (why?) and system rebooted (why?), then I executed aswbeta.exe again and the download/installation finally begun, after installation is finished the KPF4 GUI is crashed with an error and a red avast! pop-up has appeared

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #34 on: January 01, 2007, 02:40:12 PM »
I downloaded aswbeta.exe and executed it, then my user has been forced logged off (why?) and system rebooted (why?), then I executed aswbeta.exe again and the download/installation finally begun, after installation is finished the KPF4 GUI is crashed with an error and a red avast! pop-up has appeared
Please, post the contents of the log files:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\setup.log
The best things in life are free.

jamesvaul

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #35 on: January 01, 2007, 03:05:02 PM »
.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2007, 03:13:31 PM by jamesvaul »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #36 on: January 01, 2007, 03:15:54 PM »
The message exceeds the maximum allowed length (10000 characters).   :'(
So I can't post it
Post the last 100 lines of each file...  ::)
The best things in life are free.

jamesvaul

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #37 on: January 01, 2007, 04:43:47 PM »
.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2007, 04:45:31 PM by jamesvaul »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
The best things in life are free.

uilop

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #39 on: January 01, 2007, 07:48:57 PM »
This new version causes a delay when my system starts. It "hangs" 10-15 seconds (no provider is loaded). After that 4 providers are loaded. Then the screen becomes black for a second and in the end 6 providers are loaded (as I want them  ;) )
The latest stable version didn't have this problem!

My System:
Intel Pentium 4 1.8 GHz
512 MB RAM
Windows XP SP2 (all updates)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #40 on: January 01, 2007, 08:15:03 PM »
This new version causes a delay when my system starts. It "hangs" 10-15 seconds (no provider is loaded).
I confirm this behavior here too... It hangs before avast is running.

The latest stable version didn't have this problem!
Yes, the latest version load (seems to load) faster.

Edited:
After that 4 providers are loaded. Then the screen becomes black for a second and in the end 6 providers are loaded (as I want them  ;) )
I can't confirm this part... sorry, for me, all avast protection is 'hanged' for some seconds, not that much... but all providers, not for then the others.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2007, 11:28:47 PM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #41 on: January 01, 2007, 08:28:46 PM »
You mean you see 4 providers running - or 4 providers total? (If any case, which 4 are the "active" - and which are not?)

Also, what does it mean "screen becomes black", exactly? Like the whole monitor turns off?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Hannu

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #42 on: January 01, 2007, 09:17:26 PM »
Found a small glitch in the About dialog...

I think that "Build" should say "Dec2006" instead "Oct2006"...

I noticed that also  ;)


EDIT:
WTF!? I downloaded aswbeta.exe, executed it as usual, there is that ding sound and no update dialog at all. And process is not even running. What gives!?

Maybe your update progress is in silent mode?

joooo

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #43 on: January 01, 2007, 11:05:01 PM »
Helo for all.   
Which will be the other improvements that this version will have?
It has some forecast of launching?
Thanks.

uilop

  • Guest
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.925)
« Reply #44 on: January 01, 2007, 11:34:36 PM »
@ Vlk

Yes, only 4 providers are active (and I don't know which). But when it "hangs" no provider is running and the "red circle" is visible.

And it's really like the whole monitor turns off (but only for a second)

Very strange behavior  ???