Author Topic: Runtime Error! (R6034)  (Read 23401 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Quelb

  • Guest
Runtime Error! (R6034)
« on: January 07, 2007, 07:14:05 PM »


The following Error message was displayed before the Avast! Virus warning was displayed after I visited youareanidiot.org with Firefox 2.0.0.1 on WinXP SP2.

Displaying the Virus warning is OK, but the error should not be displayed.

I use avast! Version 4.7 Home Edition
Build 4.7.892
Xtreme Toolkit Version 1.9.4.0
ActiveSkin Version 4.2.7.3
VPS version is 0701-1

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2007, 08:46:03 PM »
youareanidiot.org

Dr. Web could not scan this page:

Quote
Can`t fetch file pointed by your url. This may be caused by several reasons:
    * Remote file is not available (not found, requires authentication, permission denied)
    * Remote site is down, or very slow, or busy
    * No network connectivity between Dr.Web online server and remote web-site

Not even with www before...
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Ɯberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86518
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2007, 09:22:15 PM »
McAfee Siteadvisor review of www . youareanidiot.org One reviewer comment reports a virus infection at that site.

However, I was able to check it with DrWeb and shows clean.

With firefox and noscript extension, no avast detection. Other than the infuriating flash presentation, nothing.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2007, 11:24:52 PM »
My avast gives the following warning

...
Dateiname: h t t p : / / y o u a r e a n i d i o t . o r g / s c r i p t / y o u . j s
Malware-Name: VBS:Malware [Gen]
Malware-Typ: Virus/Wurm
VPS Version: 0701-1, 05.01.2007
...

so it is clear that there is no alert with noscript extension, because the Problem comes with the JS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Ɯberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86518
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 01:02:06 AM »
DrWeb link checker also finds a virus in http :// youareanidiot.org /script/you.js a different name but a trojan.no.close. So the detection would appear valid for the you.js file.

VirusTotal also detects it under many names, mainly spawn, windowbomb, noclose, etc.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2007, 11:09:26 AM »
Quote
Displaying the Virus warning is OK, but the error should not be displayed.

So, as I said, for me it is clear that the virus warning is displayed. But the Runtime Error should not be there.
My questions are:
1 What is wrong that it is displayed?
2 What can I do that it will not be displayed in future?

I already uninstalled avast! and reinstalled it but the error is still there!

(The JS produces 5 Windows that change Position every second, checks if there are 5 Windows open and open new ones if there aren't. Pretty nasty ;) )

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2007, 01:27:21 PM »
We need help from the programmers...
The warning is ok as you've said. avast shouldn't crash...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2007, 03:30:23 PM »
Quelb, is the problem reproducible? I don't seem able to simulate it here...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2007, 04:35:21 PM »
Yes, it is reproducible. Every time I visit the website the error occurs.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2007, 02:37:00 PM »
Now I uninstalled avast and used aswclear.exe to clear everything but the Problem is still there after reinstalling (setupger.exe).

German WinXP home SP2

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11811
    • AVAST Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2007, 02:53:28 PM »
So, the error appears after you close the virus dialog with the "Abort connection" button, or even before, when the virus dialog is still visible?

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2007, 05:59:25 PM »
The first thing I see is the Runtime Error, the dialog with the "Abort connection" button appears after I clicked OK on the Runtime Error dialog.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2007, 12:15:08 AM »
Could you please try upgrading to build 4.7.932 and see if it has any effect on the problem?
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=25697.0

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2007, 01:02:04 AM »
I have now updated to 4.7.932 and did a reboot. (VPS now 702-0)
There is still the same Error message before the avast! virus alert window opens.

The sound is already played during the error message is displayed.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 01:40:45 AM by Quelb »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2007, 06:19:18 PM »
I have a couple of more questions:

1. Is Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 installed on your machine?

2. Does the problem happen if, instead of waiting for the virus dialog, you simply double-click the avast tray icon (and the avast on-access scanner dialog appears)?

3. Please try doing the following: download Process Explorer from http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/ProcessExplorer.mspx, simulate the problem (i.e. have the R6034 dialog on the screen), then run Process Explorer, scroll the process tree to ashDisp.exe, press Ctrl+L to display the lower pane, press Ctrl+D to have DLLs in the lower pane, and then click Ctrl+A to save the contents of the window to a text file. Then post the contents of that file (or attach it to your post).


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.