Author Topic: system files in Virus Chest??  (Read 3780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
system files in Virus Chest??
« on: January 08, 2007, 07:37:41 PM »
Hi everyone,

I was just nosing around in Avast! and went into the Virus Chest and was quickly reminded that I still had three 'system' files in it.  I am pretty sure they were put in there after my initial scan back in November.

I can't see the files when I click on 'Infected' Files,  just when I click on 'System Files' or 'All Chest Files'.

The files in question are:

(1) kernel32.dll       C:\WINDOWS\system32
(2) winsock.dll         "       "                "
(3) wsock32.dll        "       "                "


I figured that since they were system files and they didn't show under the 'Infected File' folder I would try to restore them.

So I right clicked each of them and chose the 'Restore' option.  Each time I would get the following 'Overwrite' message:

" ... You are trying to restore a file from the chest.  The file already exists.  Should the program overwrite the existing file? ...."

Needless to say I chose 'Cancel' and got out of there as fast as I could.

I then did a system search for all three of the files and found each of them in my WINDOWS folder.

My question is should I just leave these three files in the chest or is it safe to delete them from it (the chest)?

I am also curious how they even got in the chest if they aren't recognized as 'infected' files?

Thanks and regards,

2harts4ever



Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline XMAS

  • Avast translator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1211
  • Santa is watching you ;)
    • avast! in Bulgarian
Re: system files in Virus Chest??
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 07:55:16 PM »
Hello :)

Here's some info from avast's help files   ;)
Quote

During the installation, avast! copies some critical system files into the Chest, under the "System files" category. Those files might cause the operating system to crash if they get infected by a virus. If needed, those files can be restored from the Chest to their original location. Should an unknown virus infect the computer despite the extensive protection from the avast! antivirus package and alter an important system file, it can then be easily restored to its original state.
You've Got To Get Close To The Flame To See What It's Made Of...

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: system files in Virus Chest??
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2007, 08:06:21 PM »
Hi,

I appreciate your fast response and the information from the program's help file.

So, am I correct in assuming that if the need ever arose I would chose the restore option to 'overwrite' the existing file?

Thanks and regards,

2harts4ever



Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: system files in Virus Chest??
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2007, 08:09:47 PM »
So, am I correct in assuming that if the need ever arose I would chose the restore option to 'overwrite' the existing file?
Yes, if the system files get infected you can restore them overwritten the infected ones  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: system files in Virus Chest??
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 08:14:46 PM »
Hi Tech,

That's the answer I was searching for!

I appreciate your following up on my post.

Thanks and regards,

2harts4ever
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe