Author Topic: Avast install on 64 bit vista  (Read 15912 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chinga69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2007, 10:24:01 AM »
updated from 36 today to


 Program: Already up to date
  (current version 4.7.938)
- Vps: Already up to date
  (current version 000703-0)

Server: download76.avast.com (75.126.38.78)
Downloaded files: 3 (0.03 KB)
Download time: 2 s
cheers chinga69

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11562
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2007, 10:24:51 AM »
And the problem (that applications cannot be started if Standard Shield is active) is still present there?

Offline chinga69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2007, 10:26:33 AM »
im hoping i am still protected enough to keep me safe till the fix is released

cheers chinga69

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11562
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2007, 10:27:10 AM »
Please, is the bug still present in 938 (i.e. if you reenable scanning of executed programs, does the problem appear again)?

Offline chinga69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2007, 10:28:04 AM »
not if you untick 
untick scan executed progs and scan dynamic libraries


you get all acess back
cheers chinga69

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11562
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2007, 10:29:22 AM »
Yes, I understand that - but if the option is selected, the problem is still there, right?

Offline chinga69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2007, 10:31:50 AM »
yes until the fix is released

which should be soon the avast guys are very GOOD
cheers chinga69

Offline chinga69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2007, 10:39:08 AM »
the problem is there as far as i cant get on the net or access some of my system but i can still log on when i reboot

cheers chinga69

Offline chinga69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #23 on: January 15, 2007, 10:40:44 AM »
can some one tell me why i get kicked out of the thread when i post a reply
cheers chinga69

Offline paesan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2007, 03:20:11 PM »
Newest update to the update still not working properly. Time to go back to 892 version until things get fixed.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67280
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #25 on: January 15, 2007, 03:27:41 PM »
Newest update to the update still not working properly. Time to go back to 892 version until things get fixed.
Which is the error?
Please, post the last 50-100 files of avast log files:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\setup.log
The best things in life are free.

Offline paesan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #26 on: January 15, 2007, 03:48:49 PM »
On windows startup I keep getting all these windows .exe error notifications. Also, internet connection will not work when avast is enabled.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67280
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #27 on: January 15, 2007, 03:51:31 PM »
On windows startup I keep getting all these windows .exe error notifications.
Can you post a screenshot?
To know how to post a screenshot, see http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8982.0
You can use WinSnap to get a screenshot (http://www.ntwind.com/software/winsnap.html).

Also, internet connection will not work when avast is enabled.
Which firewall do you use?
Into the firewall settings, the following programs should be allowed to connect:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup (avast! Update executable). This is a temporary file that just appears when an update (check) is about to launch, and disappears again afterwards.

Don't need rights to connect:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
The best things in life are free.

Offline chadderbox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #28 on: January 15, 2007, 04:31:30 PM »
I can't even see if I'm having that problem because with either .936 or .938 installed as soon as I try to logon to Vista, the screen almost immediately says Logging Off and goes dark.  I have to reboot in safe mode in order to get back into my system.  Is this a new problem or a known one?  Or possibly just a problem with my system? I am running Vista x64 on a Core2Duo CPU with 4GB's of memory if that helps.

Offline paesan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast install on 64 bit vista
« Reply #29 on: January 15, 2007, 04:57:17 PM »
Well I am sticking with version 892. After uninstall of 938 and reinstall to 892 everything works fine. I then updated again to 938 and upon reboot I get message that all my recycle bins are corrupted, click ok and system never completely finshes booting up. Icons are there but i get access denied meesage when I try to access control panel , my computer, etc.  I had to boot into safe mode to get access to the control panel to remove avast and install with 892. Everything is fine with this version and I have spent enough time with this.