Author Topic: "Suspicious Messages"  (Read 5266 times)

nospmas1939

"Suspicious Messages"
« on: January 14, 2007, 10:33:42 AM »
Hi, I am a newbie so please be patient.

I run:

Win XP Pro with SP2 and all the updates, Hotfixes etc.
avast Home Edition Build Oct 2006 (4.7.892)
VPS file compilation date: 13/01/07, File version: 0703-0
Mailwasher Pro 5.3
S&D
Ad-Aware
Thunderbird
Firefox

When I check my email through Mailwasher Pro and mark all the SPAM and unsolicited emails as 'blacklisted' and process the email, I get an <avast> window saying that this message is a "Suspicious Message" and the options are "Continue" and "Don't Send".  I always select "Continue".

Is this the correct way of handling these messages?

Also, it would be good to be able to search "Threads" for a query like mine, so as not to duplicate [or more] the same queries.

Thanks for your help.

Regards to all.

Offline alanrf

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • Just an avast user
Re: "Suspicious Messages"
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2007, 10:35:32 AM »
There is a Search button at the top of the forum page.

nospmas1939

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2007, 10:43:25 AM »
I did <alanrf> but came up with nothing.  Thanks anyway

Offline alanrf

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • Just an avast user
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2007, 11:13:42 AM »
I did too ... suspicious brings up a lot of hits.

Since you tell us this is affecting mail that is being sent the advice from Tech in this thread could well be a good place to start looking for a match to the exact details of the message you are seeing.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=24737.0

If it does not, it would assist if you can capture the error pop-up and report it back here.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2007, 11:15:30 AM by alanrf »

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2007, 02:38:43 PM »
I use MailWasher Pro and I have it ignored in the email scanner.