Author Topic: Avast want do a scan  (Read 22059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88190
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2007, 03:01:20 PM »
There isn't a save as on mine either, so it isn't just you.

If you have created an image it would be just as easy to either attach it to the post or have the link show the image in the post. By clicking the Additional Options text you can attach an image. With these options the image/s are available to those without having to open another window or tab.

Example of displaying the image located in another location like tinypic.com.
Code: [Select]
[img]http://i1.tinypic.com/47i632a.jpg[/img]
I was going to use this example to display the image, but it is quite large and would probably have been better  left as two images than combined.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.9.6082 (build 23.9.8494.792) UI 1.0.781/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11831
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2007, 03:13:10 PM »
Please try to create the dump of the frozen ashAvast.exe process. So,
- simulate the problem
- when ashAvast.exe is frozen (present in the task list), download and run hangrep.exe. Select ashAvast.exe in the list of processes and use the Save button. This will generate a dump file... so please upload it to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
Let's see if it gives us any hint.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67199
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2007, 03:44:43 PM »
There isn't a save as on mine either, so it isn't just you.
Sorry, people.
Can you use ProcessExplorer instead of Task Manager and go File > Save as?

But try what Igor said too...
The best things in life are free.

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #33 on: January 19, 2007, 06:27:04 AM »
Thanks DavidR for your info :)
Please try to create the dump of the frozen ashAvast.exe process. So,
- simulate the problem
- when ashAvast.exe is frozen (present in the task list), download and run hangrep.exe. Select ashAvast.exe in the list of processes and use the Save button. This will generate a dump file... so please upload it to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
Let's see if it gives us any hint.


I have the dump file ready, but i am not sure how to go about sending it as i get this    ...Index of ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
Up to higher level directory....

If i click Up higher level directory i get this
...Directory: incoming         17/01/2007     3:21:00 PM
Directory: pub       24/05/2006    12:00:00 AM....

Sorry about this i do try but nothing sinks into my thick head.

Cheers




crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #34 on: January 19, 2007, 06:29:01 AM »
Hi Tech is this what you were after.

System Idle Process   0   90.77      
 Interrupts   n/a      Hardware Interrupts   
 DPCs   n/a   3.08   Deferred Procedure Calls   
 System   4         
  smss.exe   424      Windows NT Session Manager   Microsoft Corporation
   csrss.exe   476      Client Server Runtime Process   Microsoft Corporation
   winlogon.exe   500      Windows NT Logon Application   Microsoft Corporation
    services.exe   544   1.54   Services and Controller app   Microsoft Corporation
     ati2evxx.exe   704      ATI External Event Utility EXE Module   ATI Technologies Inc.
     svchost.exe   716      Generic Host Process for Win32 Services   Microsoft Corporation
     svchost.exe   848      Generic Host Process for Win32 Services   Microsoft Corporation
     MsMpEng.exe   884      Service Executable   Microsoft Corporation
     svchost.exe   928      Generic Host Process for Win32 Services   Microsoft Corporation
     incdsrv.exe   948      incdsrv   Ahead Software AG
     svchost.exe   1096      Generic Host Process for Win32 Services   Microsoft Corporation
     svchost.exe   1132      Generic Host Process for Win32 Services   Microsoft Corporation
     vsmon.exe   1200      TrueVector Service   Zone Labs, LLC
     spoolsv.exe   1536      Spooler SubSystem App   Microsoft Corporation
     aswUpdSv.exe   1672         
     ashServ.exe   1700      avast! antivirus service   
     ITMRTSVC.exe   1816      eTrust PestPatrol Real-time service   CA, Inc.
     wdfmgr.exe   1956      Windows User Mode Driver Manager   Microsoft Corporation
     uphclean.exe   1996      User Profile Hive Cleanup Service   Microsoft Corporation
     ashMaiSv.exe   1068      avast! e-Mail Scanner Service   ALWIL Software
     ashWebSv.exe   1440      avast! Web Scanner   ALWIL Software
     alg.exe   1728      Application Layer Gateway Service   Microsoft Corporation
     iPodService.exe   2496      iPodService Module   Apple Computer, Inc.
    lsass.exe   556      LSA Shell (Export Version)   Microsoft Corporation
    ati2evxx.exe   1220      ATI External Event Utility EXE Module   ATI Technologies Inc.
explorer.exe   1280      Windows Explorer   Microsoft Corporation
 SOUNDMAN.EXE   2176      Realtek Sound Manager   Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
 carpserv.exe   2184      carpserv   Conexant Systems
 PDVDServ.exe   2192      PowerDVD RC Service   Cyberlink Corp.
 E_S4I3H2.EXE   2200      EPSON Status Monitor 3   SEIKO EPSON CORPORATION
 InCD.exe   2224      InCD   Ahead Software AG
 atiptaxx.exe   2232      ATI Desktop Control Panel   ATI Technologies, Inc.
 iTunesHelper.exe   2256      iTunesHelper Module   Apple Computer, Inc.
 a2adguard.exe   2276      a-squared Anti-Dialer Guard   a-squared
 MSASCui.exe   2284      Windows Defender User Interface   Microsoft Corporation
 zlclient.exe   2292      Zone Labs Client   Zone Labs, LLC
 cctray.exe   2312      CA Common Tray   CA, Inc.
  CAPPActiveProtection.exe   2528      CAPPActiveProtection Application   CA, Inc.
 ashDisp.exe   2324      avast! service GUI component   
 ctfmon.exe   2336      CTF Loader   Microsoft Corporation
 firefox.exe   2812      Firefox   Mozilla Corporation
 procexp.exe   3108   4.62   Sysinternals Process Explorer   Sysinternals
everest.bin   4072      EVEREST Network Audit & Management   Lavalys, Inc.

Cheers

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11831
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #35 on: January 19, 2007, 09:59:15 AM »
I have the dump file ready, but i am not sure how to go about sending it as i get this    ...Index of ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
Up to higher level directory....

If you opened the incoming folder in IE (or other browser), I think it should be enough to drag&drop the dumpfile somewhere into the window - and it gets uploaded (at least that's how it works for IE).

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #36 on: January 19, 2007, 10:31:45 AM »
I have the dump file ready, but i am not sure how to go about sending it as i get this    ...Index of ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
Up to higher level directory....

If you opened the incoming folder in IE (or other browser), I think it should be enough to drag&drop the dumpfile somewhere into the window - and it gets uploaded (at least that's how it works for IE).


I have tried this but all i keep getting asked is where do i want to save the file.
I cannot see any where that i can save it in the incoming folder.

I feel so stupid :-[

Cheers

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11831
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #37 on: January 19, 2007, 10:32:51 AM »
If you have "Index of ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming" shown, you should be in the right folder. So, dropping the file somewhere into the bottom right part of the window should do.
How big is the dump file, btw?

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #38 on: January 19, 2007, 10:43:43 AM »
If you have "Index of ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming" shown, you should be in the right folder. So, dropping the file somewhere into the bottom right part of the window should do.
How big is the dump file, btw?



It is uploading now and is 5.05 Mb

Hope it goes okay  Cheers

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #39 on: January 19, 2007, 10:54:10 AM »
It has loded into the folder it is just sitting there am i supposed click anything or have you recieved it.

Cheers

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11831
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #40 on: January 19, 2007, 10:55:40 AM »
OK, got it - thanks.
Now, I'll have to find somebody to take a look at it ;)

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #41 on: January 19, 2007, 11:45:45 AM »
OK, got it - thanks.
Now, I'll have to find somebody to take a look at it ;)


Thanks for letting me know

Cheers :)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11831
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #42 on: January 19, 2007, 03:01:52 PM »
Interesting.
A few more questions:
1. Do I understand it correctly that the splash screen doesn't even show if you click "Start avast! Antivirus" - i.e. no memory scanning occurs?
2. How long did you wait from "starting" the splash screen until you generated the dump? I certainly don't need it precisely, just would like to know if it was something like 2 seconds, or more like a minute.

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #43 on: January 19, 2007, 03:14:00 PM »
Interesting.
A few more questions:
1. Do I understand it correctly that the splash screen doesn't even show if you click "Start avast! Antivirus" - i.e. no memory scanning occurs?
2. How long did you wait from "starting" the splash screen until you generated the dump? I certainly don't need it precisely, just would like to know if it was something like 2 seconds, or more like a minute.


Yes that is correct splash screen doesn't show, no memory scan.

I waited about 10 Seconds before i generated the dump.

I will be disconnected shortly so that will be me for now, Thanks for your assistance

Cheers
« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 03:23:08 PM by crofty59 »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11831
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast want do a scan
« Reply #44 on: January 19, 2007, 03:23:03 PM »
OK. Please try the following:
1. Open avast! installation folder in Explorer (or any other file manager you use) and rename the file ashUInt.dll to something else (e.g. ashUInt.dl_)
2. Download this file:
http://public.avast.com/~glucksmann/ashUInt.dll
and put it into avast! installation folder, instead of the original one.

Now, try to start avast! (splash) again... does it help?