Author Topic: First time doing the boot scan, I think something might be wrong  (Read 1250 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SFK1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1

And it's been like this on a loop for more than 60 minutes already, how long is it supposed to take?

A few days ago I had ordered Avast (Basic Premium version) to do a boot scan of my laptop next time I started it up, because I was suspicious something might have slipped through. I confess I had no idea how long this is supposed to take. Is the whole scan really this loading screen with the "Avast Antivirus is loading" message on a loop, or did something go wrong?

My laptop's internal drive is just a 120 GB SSD, for reference.

Offline MrDJ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: First time doing the boot scan, I think something might be wrong
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2023, 10:44:16 PM »
it doesnt work so you need to revert back to the older version
see my post here https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=320643.30
« Last Edit: March 13, 2023, 10:47:03 PM by MrDJ »
Clevo P502 Laptop i7 3720QM 2.60GHz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GTX 680M, Crucial 512 SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, over 12 years old and still super fast.

Offline gakposa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: First time doing the boot scan, I think something might be wrong
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2023, 08:53:09 PM »
6 months later boot scan is not fixed? Why can't fix it?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89051
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: First time doing the boot scan, I think something might be wrong
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2023, 09:33:50 PM »
6 months later boot scan is not fixed? Why can't fix it?

Well if you gave some information (operating system version and avast program version and build number) we might be able to point you in the right direction (you certainly haven't reported it in the forums) ?

The new means to run the boot-time scan has completely changed, it is relatively new and it relies on your system being able to run in the Windows Recovery Environment.

If you haven't already done so I suggest that you browse the link given above your post.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security