Author Topic: Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast  (Read 3009 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tbird

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Proud avast user
Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast
« on: January 30, 2007, 01:16:29 PM »

I was trying to update to the latest 5.3 and my AV program, Avast, has tagged the file SpysweeperUI.exe as containing Win32:Delf-BPK [Trj].  When the warning came up I moved it to the chest and now Spysweeper will not work.
Can anyone offer me any advice.  Thanks
XP/SP3, Intel Pentium 4, 992MB Ram, Avast 2014 Free, Chrome  with ABP , Private  Firewall 7.0,  MBAM, WinPatrol and Thunderbird 24.6.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
The best things in life are free.

Offline tbird

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Proud avast user
Re: Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2007, 02:02:52 PM »
Sorry Tech this is the only board I check.  I submitted a ticket to SpySweeper and will let you know what they say.  Tbird
XP/SP3, Intel Pentium 4, 992MB Ram, Avast 2014 Free, Chrome  with ABP , Private  Firewall 7.0,  MBAM, WinPatrol and Thunderbird 24.6.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86806
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2007, 03:10:45 PM »
Looks like avast getting its own back on SpySweeper after it detected ashDisp.exe as LopDotCom some time ago, only joking.

You could also check the offending/suspect file at: VirusTotal - Multi engine on-line virus scanner Or Jotti - Multi engine on-line virus scanner if any other scanners here detect them it is less likely to be a false positive. You can't do this with the file in the chest, you will need to move it out.

If it is indeed a false positive, add it to the exclusions lists (Standard Shield, Customize, Advanced and Program Settings, Exclusions) and periodically check it (scan it in the chest), there should still be a copy in the chest even though you restored it to the original location. When it is no longer detected then you can also remove it from the Standard Shield and Program Settings, exclusions.
Also see (Mini Sticky) False Positives, how to report it to avast! and what to do to exclude them until the problem is corrected.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline tbird

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Proud avast user
Re: Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2007, 04:41:05 PM »
Thanks David.  I just reinstalled the previous version of SpySweeper and will wait for them to correct the new version  before I reinstall.  I noticed in your signature you use AVG AS.  Is this a good program and is it free.  Thanks Tbird
XP/SP3, Intel Pentium 4, 992MB Ram, Avast 2014 Free, Chrome  with ABP , Private  Firewall 7.0,  MBAM, WinPatrol and Thunderbird 24.6.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2007, 05:13:32 PM »
AVG AS.  Is this a good program and is it free.
Yes. A very good program and it is free (without the resident guard). Anyway, a lot of people just use it to on-demand scannings. 8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86806
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Spysweeper 5.3 and Avast
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2007, 05:49:25 PM »
Thanks David.  I just reinstalled the previous version of SpySweeper and will wait for them to correct the new version  before I reinstall.  I noticed in your signature you use AVG AS.  Is this a good program and is it free.  Thanks Tbird

I would have confirmed the detection was correct first before taking any uninstall action. If you still have spysweeperui.exe in the chest, extract it to a temporary location and have it scanned at virustotal, etc. You may find standard shield will alert when extracted, select no action.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security