Author Topic: Avast! for U3  (Read 27202 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11818
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2007, 10:55:30 PM »
Please check the U3 drive for a setup.log file - can you post it here?

dixy

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2007, 06:07:38 PM »
Why dont u make avast that can run from other USB-s?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86926
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2007, 06:45:54 PM »
Because U3 drives are different from ordinary usb drives, http://www.u3.com/ The applications are written to run on U3 Smart drives and won't run on ordinary USB pen drives.

http://www.everythingusb.com/u3.html

Edit:
Quote
U3 USB sticks are special devices which show a menu icon in the system tray when inserted, and also support auto-run of programs from USB sticks. They require a special installer package which will work with the U3 installer. Optionally, all plugins and settings of an installed desktop version can be copied to the U3 stick too. Please only download this package if you really have an U3 stick!
« Last Edit: February 16, 2007, 06:49:27 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

busterkeaton

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2007, 08:18:37 PM »
Hi,

Just to say that I have exactly the same problem that you are experiencing. I have tried the Avast u3 edition on 4 different pc's, and it works on all but 1. All the other u3 programs work on all 4 pc's. I tried your trick of copying the contents of the exec folder from one pc on which Avast was working to the pc on which it wasn't, and it then worked, until I ejected the u3 device. By the way I have a sandisk Cruzer.

Regards,

Andy.

El Polo

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2007, 04:21:11 PM »
Please check the U3 drive for a setup.log file - can you post it here?

ok, here it is
Quote
09:34:29 min/gen  Started: 20.02.2007, 09:34:29
09:34:29 min/gen  Running setup_av_u3-6c (108)
09:34:29 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
09:34:29 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: LBA100417
09:34:29 min/sys  Windows Net User: UQO\harp03
09:34:29 min/gen  Cmdline: /checkupdate
09:34:29 vrb/gen  DldSrc set to inet
09:34:29 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_CHECK_UPDATE
09:34:29 min/gen  Old version: ffffffff (-1)
09:34:29 vrb/sys  Computer DnsName: LBA100417.uqo.local
09:34:29 vrb/sys  Computer Ip Addr: 132.213.5.59
09:34:29 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
09:34:29 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
09:34:29 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_u3-6c is installed
09:34:29 vrb/pkg  Part vps-71400 is installed
09:34:29 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_u3-6c is installed
09:34:29 min/gen  Old version: ffffffff (-1)
09:34:30 vrb/fil  SetExistingFilesBitmap: 35->35->35
09:34:30 min/gen  GUID: ecd6582d-1004-4450-bfee-b1db60dd9d89
09:34:31 nrm/gen  Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 105 (maintenance:0)
09:34:31 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download22 AVAST server' from 'main'
09:34:31 min/pkg  GetPackages - set proxy for inet
09:34:31 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
09:34:31 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
09:34:32 vrb/gen  Used server: http://download22.avast.com/iavs4x
09:34:34 nrm/gen  Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 105 (maintenance:0)
09:34:34 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download21 AVAST server' from 'main'
09:34:34 min/pkg  GetPackages - set proxy for inet
09:34:34 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
09:34:34 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
09:34:34 vrb/gen  Used server: http://download21.avast.com/iavs4x
09:34:34 vrb/gen  Used server: http://download21.avast.com/iavs4x
09:34:35 vrb/gen  Used server: http://download21.avast.com/iavs4x
09:34:36 vrb/gen  Used server: http://download21.avast.com/iavs4x
09:34:36 min/pkg  Load F:\System\Apps\1F30627F-0195-44d4-8C24-1999F3C02C50\Data\prod-av_u3.vpu
09:34:36 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: program = prg_av_u3-6c
09:34:36 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: setup = setup_av_u3-6c
09:34:36 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: vps = vps-71404
09:34:37 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 5
09:34:37 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 10320
09:34:37 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 2126 ms
09:34:37 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
09:34:37 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000000 [Something done]
09:34:37 min/gen  Stopped: 20.02.2007, 09:34:37
09:34:37 nrm/fil  Direct delete of file: F:\System\Apps\1F30627F-0195-44d4-8C24-1999F3C02C50\Data\setup.log

but this is a correct log file, I think...
I'll try to reinstall avast at home to see if there will be a different setup.log

thank you so much  ;D



edit: ok I uninstalled avast!u3 and tried to reinstall it at home: no log file  ???
« Last Edit: February 20, 2007, 08:51:02 PM by El Polo »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2007, 06:35:12 PM »
El Polo,

I apologize for the late delay. Let me try to follow up with you on this.

It would be useful if you could do a small experiment for me.

Once the problem occurs, go to the C:\Documents and Settings\El Polo\Application Data\U3\0000060329031215\1F30627F-0195-44d4-8C24-1999F3C02C50\Exec folder (that, supposedly, now contains only the two EXE files) and put the following file in it:

http://public.avast.com/~vlk/u3/elpolo/avstart.cmd

Then, run this file (double click it in Explorer, for example). What does it do?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

El Polo

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #21 on: March 01, 2007, 05:42:59 AM »
El Polo,

I apologize for the late delay. Let me try to follow up with you on this.

It would be useful if you could do a small experiment for me.
[...]
thank you very much to carry about my problem  ;) don't worry about delays

so I tried this command file, better than words, pictures:
before: http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/before.PNG
after: http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/after.PNG

I found a problem in the command file, my drive is H:

setup.exe is now in the folder, but nothing more

you know, I think I've got a really big problem on my Windows XP, even if it is only 2 month old...
so don't worry too much about that, I'll format again soon
I've got an other problem, with a U3 game called "turbo slider", a really big big bug, I start a race, and when I quit, instant reboot, without any BSOD  :-\

at university and on some friends' PCs, no problem at all...

thank you very much again, now it's time for me to format  ;)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #22 on: March 01, 2007, 11:31:55 AM »
Thank you very much El Polo. To be honest, I'd say reformatting and starting from scratch is a bit unnecessary (or at least, premature) in your case. And it would be really pity if we didn't find the cause of the problem, too. You're obviously not the only one who's got it (see e.g. busterkeaton's post above) so it must be something that's not really so specific to your machine. Also, the fact that the machine rebooted and you didn't see any BSOD doesn't necessarily mean that no BSOD actually took place -- XP is preset to automatically reboot after BSOD, and if full dump generation is not enabled (which is not, by default), the reboot can be so fast you won't even see the blue screen. If you want, I can help you analyze that problem, too. Just send the contents of the \windows\minidump folder (ideally ZIPed up) to my email address and let me see what I can do...

Anyway, now back to the U3 issue. Thanks for spotting the error in the cmd file - you were right, the U3_APP_DATA_PATH should have been set to point to your U3 removable drive, and you did right when you changed it to H:.

However, I'm not sure I understand what happened after you ran the fixed version of the cmd file. Did it make any difference at all? Did the avast splash screen appear on the screen, followed by the "Fatal error: cannot load language DLL" error box? Or nothing at all? Also, you're saying this created a new file "setup.exe" in the Exec folder? And nothing else?

Thanks
Vlk


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

El Polo

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2007, 07:42:51 AM »
Thank you very much El Polo. To be honest, I'd say reformatting and starting from scratch is a bit unnecessary (or at least, premature) in your case. And it would be really pity if we didn't find the cause of the problem, too. You're obviously not the only one who's got it (see e.g. busterkeaton's post above) so it must be something that's not really so specific to your machine. Also, the fact that the machine rebooted and you didn't see any BSOD doesn't necessarily mean that no BSOD actually took place -- XP is preset to automatically reboot after BSOD, and if full dump generation is not enabled (which is not, by default), the reboot can be so fast you won't even see the blue screen. If you want, I can help you analyze that problem, too. Just send the contents of the \windows\minidump folder (ideally ZIPed up) to my email address and let me see what I can do...

Anyway, now back to the U3 issue. Thanks for spotting the error in the cmd file - you were right, the U3_APP_DATA_PATH should have been set to point to your U3 removable drive, and you did right when you changed it to H:.

However, I'm not sure I understand what happened after you ran the fixed version of the cmd file. Did it make any difference at all? Did the avast splash screen appear on the screen, followed by the "Fatal error: cannot load language DLL" error box? Or nothing at all? Also, you're saying this created a new file "setup.exe" in the Exec folder? And nothing else?

Thanks
Vlk
after changing the command file, the result was exactly the same, just a new file "setup.exe" in the same folder, and exactly the same message "u3lang.dll....."
I've done those modification of environment variables, but that is not the problem...

I've not formatted yet, but I know it works perfectly after a format, 2 months ago all my U3 programs worked fine, I don't know why it happen...
I suspect two things:
-nVidia ActiveArmor Firewall (that BSOD with some other programs (eMule, Azureus))
-or a certain update of Windows XP

but, it could be a very strange Software/Hardware incompatibility, that could happen with only SanDisk Cruzers USB devices and an unknown software or configuration... in very specific case.
I've got to try with another U3 device (a friend got one, not SanDisk)
it would be useful to compare systems:

Athlon 64 3000+ venice
Gigabyte GAK8NF9 (nVidia nForce 4)
2x512Mo Corsair XMS
Gigabyte 6600GT 128
Maxtor DiamondMax 9 80Go SATA
External Maxtor DM9 160Go USB2
465W noname PSU
Asus DVD writer
XP Home SP2 OEM
ForceWare 93.71
nForce driver 6.86
DirectX 9.0c
ActiveArmor Firewall
Norton AV 2002
daemon tool 4.06 (emulation options OFF)
Internet explorer 6 (also tested with IE7)
Opera 9.1 as default web browser
Internet with PPPOE access

I think that's all, and all of theses software could affect avast for U3

« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 07:45:37 AM by El Polo »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2007, 07:30:14 PM »
OK, I have prepared a modified version of avu3_upd.exe with some extra logging capabilities added.
Please download it from here: http://public.avast.com/~vlk/u3/elpolo/avu3_upd.exe and place it to the folder we're working with (overwrite existing).

Then re-run the cmd file. It should generate a file called avu3_upd.log. Please post its contents.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

El Polo

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #25 on: March 03, 2007, 07:38:02 AM »
OK, I have prepared a modified version of avu3_upd.exe with some extra logging capabilities added.
Please download it from here: http://public.avast.com/~vlk/u3/elpolo/avu3_upd.exe and place it to the folder we're working with (overwrite existing).

Then re-run the cmd file. It should generate a file called avu3_upd.log. Please post its contents.

Thanks
Vlk
WOOAAAAA
that WORKS!!!!

before: http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/beforeavu3.PNG
after: http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/afteravu3.PNG

what a great job!
so, I downloaded the modified avu3_upd.exe and ran the command file
the splash screen appeared!!!!
YES! that works!
but... I dunno why, at the end of environment scanning, avast's icon didn't appear in the taskbar
I just had to restart avast from the U3 menu, and it worked perfectly fine!!!

here is the log file:
*** APP START (0) ***
u3UnVpuToHostExe returing 0
filCreateTempPath returing C:\DOCUME~1\ELPOLO~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\avu3_ins
filCopyPath returing 0
Execing 'C:\DOCUME~1\ELPOLO~1\APPLIC~1\U3\000006~1\1F3062~1\Exec\setup.exe /forceinstall /sfx /sfxstorage "C:\DOCUME~1\ELPOLO~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\avu3_ins" /savelog "C:\DOCUME~1\ELPOLO~1\APPLIC~1\U3\000006~1\1F3062~1\Exec\u3upd_appStart.log"'
sysExecAndWait returing 536870912


edit:
there are 4 other log files, you can go there http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/

edit2:
but that looks like a temporary solution, because the folder is deleted when ejecting the u3 device
I found a solution: the H:\System\Apps\1F30627F-0195-44d4-8C24-1999F3C02C50\avast.u3p file is just a zip file, so I put the modified avu3_upd.exe into the host folder of that zip file, and now I can eject and insert my u3 device as I want, IT WORKS PERFECTLY FINE !!!

if you need me to do some experiments, I'll try to help the best I can !!!
now I've got a new reason to talk people about avast
this is not just the best antivirus ever made, this is the best programming team I've ever seen! to take care of me individualy... that is a really really appreciated thing
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 08:05:07 AM by El Polo »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #26 on: March 04, 2007, 12:34:54 AM »
Glad to hear that. :)

We have now created an updated avast installer that should (hopefully) work flawlessly even on your system.

How to use it:

1. uninstall all avast's you currently have on your U3 smart drive
2. install the modified avast version by running the installer found here: http://public.avast.com/~vlk/u3/elpolo/AvastU3.exe

That's it.
Hopefully, everything's going to be OK this time. If that's the case, then many thanks for helping to solve this issue!

Please let me know the results.

Cheers,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

El Polo

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #27 on: March 04, 2007, 03:05:32 AM »
Glad to hear that. :)

We have now created an updated avast installer that should (hopefully) work flawlessly even on your system.

How to use it:

1. uninstall all avast's you currently have on your U3 smart drive
2. install the modified avast version by running the installer found here: http://public.avast.com/~vlk/u3/elpolo/AvastU3.exe

That's it.
Hopefully, everything's going to be OK this time. If that's the case, then many thanks for helping to solve this issue!

Please let me know the results.

Cheers,
Vlk

http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/newavast.PNG

 :-\

Quote
21:00:09 min/gen  Started: 03.03.2007, 21:00:09
21:00:09 min/gen  Running setup_av_u3-6c (108)
21:00:09 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
21:00:09 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: OCM_EL-POLO
21:00:09 min/sys  Windows Net User: OCM_EL-POLO\El Polo
21:00:09 min/gen  Cmdline: /sfx /sfxstorage "C:\DOCUME~1\ELPOLO~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\avu3_ins" /forceinstall
21:00:09 vrb/gen  DldSrc set to sfx
21:00:09 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_INSTALL
21:00:09 min/gen  Old version: ffffffff (-1)
21:00:09 min/gen  GUID: a72c8bfd-6a8a-42b9-a093-d14df449a76c
21:00:09 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'tmp sfx storage' from 'sfx'
21:00:09 min/pkg  GetPackages - set proxy for inet
21:00:09 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
21:00:09 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
21:00:09 dbg/gen  Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_INSTALL )
21:00:09 dbg/gen  Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_INSTALL )
21:00:09 min/pkg  Load C:\DOCUME~1\ELPOLO~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\avu3_ins\prod-av_u3.vpu
21:00:09 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: program = prg_av_u3-6e
21:00:09 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: setup = setup_av_u3-6e
21:00:09 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: vps = vps-65200
21:00:09 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_u3-6e was set to be installed
21:00:09 vrb/pkg  Part vps-65200 was set to be installed
21:00:09 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_u3-6e was set to be installed
21:00:09 min/pkg  ERROR: Unable to load 'part-prg_av_u3-6e.vpu'
21:00:09 dbg/pkg  ERROR:LoadAllPartsVpus, code:0x20000011
21:00:09 min/gen  Err:The package is broken.
21:00:09 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 0
21:00:09 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 0
21:00:09 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 0 ms
21:00:09 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
21:00:09 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000011 [The package is broken.]
21:00:09 min/gen  Stopped: 03.03.2007, 21:00:09

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #28 on: March 04, 2007, 10:39:22 AM »
Oops, sorry, my bad, I put there a wrong version.
Now, it should be OK. :)

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

El Polo

  • Guest
Re: Avast! for U3
« Reply #29 on: March 05, 2007, 06:20:51 PM »
Oops, sorry, my bad, I put there a wrong version.
Now, it should be OK. :)

Thanks
Vlk

http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/install.PNG
http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/install2.PNG

http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/launch.PNG
http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/launch2.PNG
http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/launch3.PNG
http://paharanger.free.fr/images/avastu3/launch4.PNG

 ;D :o ;D
CONGRATULATIONS, you made a really impressive job

if you need me to do some other experiments, I'm ready  :)

this is the best support forum I ever seen, reprogramming a software just for few peoples... WAAOOO  8)