Author Topic: Totally Lost!!!!  (Read 24204 times)

Aria1206

Totally Lost!!!!
« on: February 05, 2007, 07:49:04 PM »
I am brand new to Avast 4.7 for home.  I have no idea how to scan for viruses; how to find trojan horses popups; basically a total dummy on this program. 

Would someone walk me through this step by step?  I am running WXPand have AOL dialup.  All help will be most appreciated.

Aria ???

Spiritsongs

Re: Totally Lost!!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2007, 08:17:45 PM »
 :)  Hi Aria :

First off, we should know IF you have or have had any other antivirus program on your
     computer ? If yes, what is the NAME and what have you done to "remove" it from your
     computer ?

Since you use AOL, do you use them to "surf" the internet, or do you surf by using a program
     such as Internet Explorer, Firefox, etc !? I ask because there is a POTENTIAL "conflict" with
     those using AOL, which is explained in the "Web Shield Issues" of our "FAQs", found at www.avast.com/eng/faq-avast-4-home-professional.html ; have you read this. particularly :
   " Q: I use the 'AOL browser' for web browsing and reading emails via the 'AOL' Web mail. Does avast! Web Shield work with this program?
When I check the scanned count number on Web Shield configuration page, it always shows 0.

A:

Sorry, Web Shield cannot scan connections from AOL browser. It is however capable of protecting standard browsers (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Opera, ...) used with the AOL dial-up or broadband services. "

Otherwise, when you RIGHT-click the Avast blueist "a" ball in your System Tray and select "Start 
 Avast Antivirus", eventually a screen titled "simple user interface" should appear. Read the info
 there .

Are you using any of AOL's "free" security programs ? If yes, which one(s) ?
« Last Edit: February 05, 2007, 08:19:28 PM by Spiritsongs »

Aria1206

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2007, 03:33:19 AM »
:)  Hi Aria :