Author Topic: Avast Update Problems  (Read 20223 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zehelmer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • I'm a dallied llama!
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #30 on: January 17, 2008, 02:50:02 PM »
I have been using Avast for more that 3 years and this is the first time I have ever had problems updating. I deleted the old program, uploaded a new one and even with the box checked in my firewall center, I still cannot update. I even try to manually update and still get the same error message - that it cannot contact my server. Since I am on cable Internet service, I don't understand this. Can anyone help???

Shay

Whell,
It's about the same here :-(
What happened?
Why avast (apparently) is not auto updating anymore?

I'm quite unhappy with it now  :-( after such a long  reliable operation.

Please revert to previous  friendly interface, ok?

HNY to the TEAM!

Silva

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #31 on: January 17, 2008, 03:18:21 PM »
Why avast (apparently) is not auto updating anymore?
It is updating...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #32 on: January 17, 2008, 03:18:55 PM »
Including nowadays...
The best things in life are free.

Offline zehelmer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • I'm a dallied llama!
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #33 on: January 17, 2008, 05:18:39 PM »
Why avast (apparently) is not auto updating anymore?
It is updating...

Hi, Tech (Ola')

Thanks for confirmation ;-)
I did it twice manually.
It stopped giving the usual report about the successful updating (time, size, previous and actual versions, etc.): Is this new? I was happier with the report...

Obgº

ze' Silva

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #34 on: January 17, 2008, 05:20:27 PM »
It stopped giving the usual report about the successful updating (time, size, previous and actual versions, etc.): Is this new?
Check Program settings > Update (Basic) > Details
if you uncheck 'Show update progress' or you've set 'Silent mode'.
The best things in life are free.

Offline zehelmer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • I'm a dallied llama!
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #35 on: January 17, 2008, 06:35:34 PM »
It stopped giving the usual report about the successful updating (time, size, previous and actual versions, etc.): Is this new?
Check Program settings > Update (Basic) > Details
if you uncheck 'Show update progress' or you've set 'Silent mode'.

Yes, everything was conform!

But the report is/was not appearing :-(

tks

ze' Silva

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #36 on: January 17, 2008, 07:36:20 PM »
But the report is/was not appearing :-(
Are you using Vista?
If so, could be an UAC issue, i.e., the update summary is not shown due to UAC.
The best things in life are free.

Offline zehelmer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • I'm a dallied llama!
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #37 on: January 17, 2008, 07:58:41 PM »
But the report is/was not appearing :-(
Are you using Vista?
If so, could be an UAC issue, i.e., the update summary is not shown due to UAC.

UAC?  ???
No VISTA (fortunately?)  :o
In this old PC... still running WinMe  :-X

ze' Silva

Offline gmichels

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #38 on: February 15, 2008, 08:28:13 PM »
Exactly same problem as maleas, and I have it since before this thread has been started. Using wpad, update works fine if launched manually (user account, user IE settings). No dice for automatic updates (system account, whatever IE settings it uses).

My solution was to add some aliases to the proxy's hosts file. Something like this:

Code: [Select]
A.B.C.D        download1.avast.com download2.avast.com download3.avast.com ...
E.F.G.H        download11.avast.com download12.avast.com download13.avast.com ...
...

And explicitely allow those addressess on the firewall (no proxying for them). However the update servers are now using high numbers, such as download863.avast.com, which makes my "solution" almost impossible now.

Still waiting for a final solution for this.

Thanks.

Offline nzo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2008, 12:47:29 AM »
Ditto with update problem: "cannot connect to server".

Updating set to manual on latest version of Avast Home on XPHome SP2.

Problem exists with and without firewall.

Was updating fine until about 7 days ago. Has been working fine for several years.

:(
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update: Fixed it by opening Avast user interface and opening Settings dialog. Under 'Update (Connections)' click the Proxy button and make sure the 'Direct connection - no proxy' radio button is selected. I have no idea how this setting was changed...I didn't touch it. It's also a shame that the 'Direct Connection' setting is hidden away under the proxy button where perhaps one would not normally look.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 08:05:01 AM by nzo »

Offline nzo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast Update Problems
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2008, 10:15:59 PM »
Another thought: could this problem by any chance have to do with the cutting of any of the 5 undersea cables recently? Long shot but what the hell :)

I've decided, until the Avast server problem is resolved, to use the free version of Avira anti-virus from
www.free-av.com.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2008, 10:19:52 PM by nzo »