Author Topic: Replacement for ZA free?  (Read 38092 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline drhayden1

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3233
  • Avast & Garfield-Best Protection
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #30 on: March 03, 2007, 02:33:00 PM »
do you have the free version or the paid version(if they have one) ???
cause when i checked the free version about a month ago it failed and i talked to a pc tools rep. on the phone about a question on spyware doctor full version which i use-he said the free version at that time did not have a stealth mode ::)
unless they changed it since then ???
if it works for you-that's fine-i'm gonna stay away from it-since i want better protection from one that is more reliable and sound(on my hp laptop xp home-not my quad desktop-not much out for vista yet i've seen)

http://www.softpedia.com/reviews/windows/PC-Tools-Firewall-Plus-Review-44948.shtml
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 03:00:06 PM by drhayden1 »
Gateway Laptop-AMD Phenom™ II Quad-Core Processor N830 (2.1GHz)-5000MB Dual-Channel DDR3 1066MHz Memory-ATI Radeon® HD 5650 Graphics with up to 1024MB of dedicated memory-500GB 5400RPM SATA hard drive-Windows® 8 Pro (64bit)-Windows Live Mail-Kaspersky Pure 3.0-WinPatrol Plus....

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #31 on: March 03, 2007, 03:03:46 PM »
do you have the free version or the paid version(if they have one) ???
cause when i checked the free version about a month ago it failed and i talked to a pc tools rep. on the phone about a question on spyware doctor full version which i use-he said the free version at that time did not have a stealth mode ::)
unless they changed it since then ???
when you run the test...are they all green???

I have the free version (there is no paid version), I believe my first download was the first version of PCT fw, I tried it after you first reported it in this forum under Updates.  It has always passed Shields Up for me.  I am now using the newest version.

It was easier for me to post the text summary from Shields Up, all ports that pass are green.  Yes, all ports were green.  The "passed" stamps on Shields Up are green also.  I could go through the trouble of a screen capture of Shields Up, but it wouldn't give anymore info than the text summary. 
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline drhayden1

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3233
  • Avast & Garfield-Best Protection
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #32 on: March 03, 2007, 03:08:45 PM »
ok- was just wondering my friend-use it-if it works for you-just was trying to help on my end-that's what this forum is for ;)
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 03:12:20 PM by drhayden1 »
Gateway Laptop-AMD Phenom™ II Quad-Core Processor N830 (2.1GHz)-5000MB Dual-Channel DDR3 1066MHz Memory-ATI Radeon® HD 5650 Graphics with up to 1024MB of dedicated memory-500GB 5400RPM SATA hard drive-Windows® 8 Pro (64bit)-Windows Live Mail-Kaspersky Pure 3.0-WinPatrol Plus....

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #33 on: March 04, 2007, 04:24:15 AM »
pc tools firewall free is a very lame firewall-fails the shields up test big time-advise-stay away from it ;)
https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
click on proceed...then next page-all service ports to test 8)

There was a problem with filter rules being turned off when booting up. Sometimes mine were off, other times on.  Others the were off everytime.  I think it has been fixed through Smart Update.  Mine is always on now.

This may explain why some couldn't pass Shields Up.

drhayden1,

With 2gig RAM on your laptop & 4gig RAM on your 4 proccessor computer you have the resources to run Comodo, I'm not pushing PC Tools Firewall Plus on you. :)  I recommended it to MikeBCDa because he has only 256mb of RAM.  I wouldn't recommend it if it wasn't meeting my needs.  I take my laptop places with me.  I use it on unprotected WIFI & haven't been compromised.  I have heard some horror stories of computers being compromised on public unprotected WIFI.  PC Tools Firewall Plus has stealthed me from whatever.  Plus with the great avast! av & my layered resident anti-spyware, I'm not afraid.   If the unthinkable ever happens, I have avast forums to bail me out! ;) ::) ;D
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline J J

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #34 on: March 04, 2007, 12:39:38 PM »
MikeBCda,

I see in your signature that you only have 256mb RAM, so I think PC Tools Firewall Plus would be a better choice for your computer as Comodo too much RAM.


I used to have only 128mb of RAM and comodo used to work fine.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46317
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #35 on: March 04, 2007, 03:42:00 PM »
PCTools is also not ready for Vista.....
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #36 on: March 04, 2007, 04:27:25 PM »
PCTools is also not ready for Vista.....
For what I've heard and read, PCTools is in a very beginning level of development even for XP...
Maybe I'm biased... maybe I'd like Comodo that much... who knows...
The best things in life are free.

Offline drhayden1

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3233
  • Avast & Garfield-Best Protection
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #37 on: March 04, 2007, 04:31:33 PM »
tech....can you explain maybe what basic support means....i use spyware doctor and registry mechanic(full versions) on my hp laptop and think of getting them for vista on my quad piece of junk....but on pc tools website both say they have basic support for vista ???
any help would be appreciated my friend ;)
Operating System: Designed for Windows 98, Me, 2000 and XP, with basic support for Windows Vista™
don't use the firewall :(
« Last Edit: March 04, 2007, 04:39:42 PM by drhayden1 »
Gateway Laptop-AMD Phenom™ II Quad-Core Processor N830 (2.1GHz)-5000MB Dual-Channel DDR3 1066MHz Memory-ATI Radeon® HD 5650 Graphics with up to 1024MB of dedicated memory-500GB 5400RPM SATA hard drive-Windows® 8 Pro (64bit)-Windows Live Mail-Kaspersky Pure 3.0-WinPatrol Plus....

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #38 on: March 04, 2007, 04:43:40 PM »
tech....can you explain maybe what basic support means
Basic support for what? PCTools on Vista?
I just use Vista on virtual environmments for tests (VMware).
I never tested PCTools for a lot of problems I've heard so.

Basic support seems to mean that not all features are available or fully working. Almost a beta... or an alpha version...
The best things in life are free.

Offline drhayden1

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3233
  • Avast & Garfield-Best Protection
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #39 on: March 04, 2007, 04:56:49 PM »
or they aren't supporting it yet or what ???
thanks.....i'll wait or don't get it at all ::)
when you say pctools-are you are referring to the firewall or the whole line of software ??? :o

later my friend-take care of yourself :)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2007, 05:02:49 PM by drhayden1 »
Gateway Laptop-AMD Phenom™ II Quad-Core Processor N830 (2.1GHz)-5000MB Dual-Channel DDR3 1066MHz Memory-ATI Radeon® HD 5650 Graphics with up to 1024MB of dedicated memory-500GB 5400RPM SATA hard drive-Windows® 8 Pro (64bit)-Windows Live Mail-Kaspersky Pure 3.0-WinPatrol Plus....

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #40 on: March 04, 2007, 07:04:55 PM »
when you say pctools-are you are referring to the firewall or the whole line of software ??? :o
The firewall only.
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #41 on: March 04, 2007, 08:02:00 PM »
Tech, thanks but so far no indication of any problems with 256 megs.

Only one oddball behavior I've noted, and while that could be just a coincidence of timing (started right after installing Comodo) I don't believe in such things, at least not on computers.

Now when I download JPGs, especially relatively large ones, they progressively display fairly large "chunks" at a time, as much as 1/4 or even 1/2 of the image, with long waits in between additional portions.  I've been accustomed over the years to JPGs loading and displaying a few additional lines at a time.

But total download time for the image seems to be about the same as always, so it's a curiosity thing rather than a speed problem.  Over at Comodo, they suggested a problem with Firefox setup, but I haven't touched that in ages and it's been a while since the last update (to 2.0.0.2).  The timing certainly seems to point at Comodo.

My ISP (unfamiliar with Comodo) suggested that one possibility is that Comodo "sits on" a large number of packets while checking and releases many to the system at once.  Over at the Comodo forums, they don't even seem to understand what I mean when I raised that suggestion.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2007, 08:04:07 PM by MikeBCda »
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #42 on: March 04, 2007, 09:37:41 PM »
My ISP (unfamiliar with Comodo) suggested that one possibility is that Comodo "sits on" a large number of packets while checking and releases many to the system at once.  Over at the Comodo forums, they don't even seem to understand what I mean when I raised that suggestion.
Do you have copy of the email that you've changed with your ISP?
Maybe someone from Alwil (maybe pk or vlk) could give us some light about firewall behavior... 8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re: Replacement for ZA free?
« Reply #43 on: March 05, 2007, 06:14:51 AM »
No, sorry Tech - this was by phone discussion.  I've got one of the rare ISP's whose help desk is actually knowledgeable, usually helpful, and 24/7.  :)
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: PC Tools Firewall Plus
« Reply #44 on: March 05, 2007, 07:03:12 AM »
Hi All
Today's Special - new release PC Tools Firewall http://www.pctools.com/firewall/

"Released: March 5, 2007
Size: 3,734 KB
Platforms: Designed for Windows Vista, XP, 2000 and 2003 server"

more details: http://www.pctools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=45618

and definitely check their forum before trying it! http://www.pctools.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30

Vlad
« Last Edit: March 06, 2007, 02:10:29 AM by Vladimyr »
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25