Author Topic: Problems with windows defender after 4home download.  (Read 5177 times)

laptop

Problems with windows defender after 4home download.
« on: March 03, 2007, 06:14:46 PM »
I am new to windows/pc former mac user(may go back) My McAfee trial expired and a friend of mine recommended avast, so I downloaded it last night. Now I have a windows security alert (shield with red x) and windows defender problem. Error states Program can not check for definition updates, 0x80240029
Security Center states windows defender out of date when I click update I get a message Security Center can not update definitions for Windows Defender.
I have windows Vista Home basic. Currenty on dial up.
I browsed through the forum but I did not see this problem, what is my next step?
Thanks in advance.
CB
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 06:16:34 PM by laptop »

MrRAlan

Re: Problems with windows defender after 4home download.
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2007, 06:17:02 PM »
Did you make sure to properly uninstall McAfee before installing avast?

laptop

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2007, 06:20:53 PM »
I uninstalled McAfee after I downloaded avast, I did not see any instructions to do so before downlading? cb

MrRAlan

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2007, 06:24:42 PM »
It's okay to download avast first, but did you uninstall Mcafee before installing avast.

laptop

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2007, 06:28:08 PM »
No, I uninstalled after.

MrRAlan

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2007, 06:32:04 PM »
That could be your problem, not sure.  I've always found it better to remove your previous version of antivirus first.  I would uninstall avast and see if everything else starts to work again.  If so, then I would reinstall avast.  You might want to try to find a mcafee uninstaller and run it after you uninstall avast to make sure it is totally removed.  Try a google search and see if one exists.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2007, 06:36:55 PM »
No, I uninstalled after.