Author Topic: Settings of Resident Protection????  (Read 5448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline radicalb21

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 438
  • Be Safe. Be Smart. Use Common Sense.
Settings of Resident Protection????
« on: February 10, 2004, 10:02:51 PM »
The resident protection module of AVAST 4 PRO has a possible bug. Everytime I restart my machine or turn it on after being turned off the resident protection modules settings have changed and I didn't change them. I have resident protection set to high. After I restart or turn the machine on after being turned off the resident protection either shows as custom or normal. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks again in advance.
iMac 21.5 " Mid 2011 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2004, 12:15:59 AM »
Similar situation with me too...

I usualy keep my Standard Shield customized with these options under Scanner (Advanced) card:

ADDITIONAL EXTENSIONS option under resident task settings:
ACE,ARC,ARJ,BZIP2,CAB,COM,GZIP,PST,RAR,TAR,ZIP,ZOO,ECE

...and under SCAN FILES ON OPEN:
WS?,VBS,VBE,JS,JSE,HTA,WSF,WSH,SHS,SHB,HTM*

If I accidently move sensitivity slider to High or Normal, and when I press Custom again, all my settings are gone. I have to write all of them all over again... it's pretty annoying.  ::)

Someone from Alwil ?

Thanks in advance !

Cheers !

Offline stevejrc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2004, 12:43:37 AM »
Moving the slider from Custom will reset the defaults to High or Normal, fair enough, thats usefull if you need to get them back.

I keep the extension list in a .txt file to copy from if needed.

Not sure about "radicalb21" problems though.
Steve

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2004, 01:09:56 AM »
Moving the slider from Custom will reset the defaults to High or Normal, fair enough, thats usefull if you need to get them back.

I keep the extension list in a .txt file to copy from if needed.

Not sure about "radicalb21" problems though.

I also keep those extensions in a .txt file, but I'm bored with copy/paste... anyway, it's not big deal...

Cheers !

Offline stevejrc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2004, 01:15:05 AM »
ah yeah I agree, it would be useful to remember them when you move back to Custom.

I was thinking about if defaults were then needed again, but then you could move it to High, then customise them again (which sets it to Custom).
Steve

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2004, 01:19:48 AM »
Yeah, that's it...

BTW, take a look in here:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=2577;start=45#bot

and also, I sent you P.M. regarding that thread and skin issue...

Let me know what do you think...

Cheers !

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2004, 07:16:31 AM »
Well it works in such a way that there's iternally really no notion of Normal or High settings. It's jun an UI thing. The UI queries current settings, and compares it with the predefined Normal and High set. If there's a match, it sets the slider to Normal or High. Otherwise, it sets it to Custom.

When you move the slider, it takes the predefined set and pastes it to the current config.

This behavior is by design, and I don't think it's buggy.
Anyway, how many times have you accidentally moved the slider? ;)

BTW did you know that to view/set the settings, you don't have to move the slider to Custom? Just double-click the provider icon.

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2004, 12:10:14 PM »
Vlk wrote:
Quote
...anyway, how many times have you accidentally moved the slider?

BTW did you know that to view/set the settings, you don't have to move the slider to Custom? Just double-click the provider icon...

Believe me, too many times... too many times... remember, I have to check and test all those skin options in slide pannels... sometimes it's the pain in my rear end... :) I didn't say it's a bug, but I wanted to alarm you guys to fix it if it's something like bug... no hard feelings, just constructive comment.

I didn't know that we can see those settings by double-clicking the provider icon... nice. :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2004, 05:04:43 AM »
Vlk, please, think in a feature to save all avast! settings...
Each uninstall or trouble an we need to configure all over again...  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 977
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2004, 07:55:16 AM »
Vlk, please, think in a feature to save all avast! settings...
Each uninstall or trouble an we need to configure all over again...  :'(

not a bad idea!... ;D
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2004, 07:58:19 AM »
Theoretically, all you need to do is back up the following files:

avast4.ini
avast4.mdb

in the <avast>\data folder.

That will save all the settings, excluding some minor per-user preferences stored in the registry (such as the last skin used and the position and dimensions of the virus database browser window :))

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2004, 01:18:17 PM »
Theoretically, all you need to do is back up the following files:

avast4.ini
avast4.mdb

in the <avast>\data folder.

That will save all the settings, excluding some minor per-user preferences stored in the registry (such as the last skin used and the position and dimensions of the virus database browser window :))

Thanks
Vlk

What is stored into avast4.mdb?
I can't find anything... or edit...  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11791
    • AVAST Software
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2004, 01:28:41 PM »
If I remember correctly, task settings are stored there, together with sessions, etc.
(supposing you have Database=ODBC in avast4.ini).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Settings of Resident Protection????
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2004, 01:34:58 PM »
If I remember correctly, task settings are stored there, together with sessions, etc.
(supposing you have Database=ODBC in avast4.ini).


Right now, I'm on a computer with the Home version...
Is that the reason for an empty .mdb file?

Yes, that value is posted in my actual avast4.ini file.
The best things in life are free.