Author Topic: Avast + NAV, and scanning on bootup  (Read 4097 times)

Stormy

Avast + NAV, and scanning on bootup
« on: April 07, 2007, 04:58:53 AM »
I just installed Avast, and I have Norton on my computer still - though it's out of date, I've shut off their autoprotect, and told it not to autoprotect at start-up. From what I've heard, Norton's a huge pain in the booty to completely uninstall, so...will it damage my computer to run Avast without uninstalling Norton? Or should I just suck it up and uninstall?

Also (sorry if this is a dumb Q, I'm new to Avast and couldn't find an answer in the FAQ) - is there a way I can tell it not to scan every time I boot up my computer? Or does it normally not do it unless I specifically schedule a scan? I would just test it out, but I don't want to shut down and restart my computer until I have an answer to the Norton question, in case shutting down and booting back up with Norton still on my system will make my computer Not Happy.

Thanks a ton for any help.

ETA: Haha oh ye gods!! Okay, so I nuked Norton just to be on the safe side, and LO AND BEHOLD, my computer is running a billion times faster. Turns out the "virus" I thought I had that was slowing my system to a crawl was Norton. No wonder all my virus and spyware scans were turning up bupkis.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2007, 05:46:45 AM by Stormy »

mauserme

Re: Avast + NAV, and scanning on bootup
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2007, 06:24:20 AM »
Well that was easy  ;D

Welcome to the forum Stormy.

BTW - its not a bad idea to look for and delete any Norton remnants to avoid possible conflicts.  Look especially in the user accounts under Application Data.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2007, 06:27:22 AM by mauserme »

Stormy

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2007, 06:46:30 AM »
Thank ya much!