Author Topic: What is happening with the icon?  (Read 11165 times)

roatan4us

What is happening with the icon?
« on: April 11, 2007, 07:56:37 AM »
I am totally new to Avast! anti virus. I have downloaded the program, I have registrered it and inserted the key according to instructions. I read that the icon in the tray is "waiting for something" if it is gray, and active if it is blue.

Mine is gray and the letter "a" is spinning around every so often. When I click on it I get this:

(hopefully the screen shot shows, if not, then I have to learn how to post a Picture in this forum as well)

How do I know when it is updating and what does it look like? Why is the icon not turning blue?

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: What is happening with the icon?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2007, 02:10:06 PM »
There are many shades of Blue, it isn't a Royal blue and there is a 3D shading effect which makes it look more of a blue grey. The colour is also dependent on the monitor, graphics card and background colour, however, yours probably looks a lot like mine and there is nothing wrong. The important thing is the rotation indicates it is working.

I also suggest in the image you posted, you click the Details... >> button for a better presentation of the on-access providers screen.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

roatan4us

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2007, 03:46:47 PM »
Here is another screen shot. Does it run/scan all the time? It has never stopped since I installed it last night. The "a" in the icon, is sitting off to the right, is that how it should look. Is the spinning my only indication that it works? Or is there a way I can look and see a date that tells me that it has updated?
(like all other virus programs I have had)