Author Topic: ICMP  (Read 18798 times)

estatik

ICMP
« on: April 27, 2003, 04:40:21 AM »
Hello to all!

I have been using avast4 for about 4 months and very happy with the prog.  But there has been something that has me pondering...I was wondering why my PC sends out a lot of ICMP traffic to you.  Specifically, 64.246.6.135, 207.44.156.15, 62.168.45.69, 207.44.156.15 and 195.70.130.34.  Sometimes at intervals of 30s at times for a period of 30m!   I have both virus database and program updating set to manual; I religiouly check for updates everyday :P.  Not much of a problem, but more of an annoyance.  So, is there any way I can configure/change any file(s) so that the ICMP pings cease permenantly ????  (WinMe, 900/512, avast4, sygate5, spybot, adaware6)

Thanks in advance.

¤estatik¤

« Last Edit: April 27, 2003, 04:41:01 AM by estatik »

Offline raman

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
Re:ICMP
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2003, 09:20:40 AM »
Take a look at this thread, maybe it solves your Problem.
MfG Ralf

estatik

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2003, 09:12:57 PM »
Raman, are you talking about the Auto Dial Up thread?  Sorry, but it doesn't help me one bit.  For one thing, I'm not on a dial up connection and I've searched for, but can't find the avast/data/avast.ini file.  I think that Wim's thread is somewhat of a different issue than mine.  All I want to know is: 1) why does my firewall log enormous amount of ICMP traffic to avast (yesterday, ICMP traffic for 1½ hours straight at intervals of about 20 to 30 sec), and 2) how can I disable it from calling home?  
« Last Edit: April 27, 2003, 09:14:55 PM by estatik »

Amerk_5

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2003, 02:07:04 AM »
The file you are looking for is actually named Avast4.ini

n4cer

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2003, 03:46:07 AM »
Insert the following into your avast4.ini:
[InetWD]
AssumeAlwaysConnected=1

This should stop the pings.

Offline raman

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster