Author Topic: CPU usage since last program update...  (Read 5436 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FoKuS

  • Guest
CPU usage since last program update...
« on: April 16, 2007, 08:37:23 PM »
Well, I have annoying problem since last program update. Before last update all works fine, but now my PC is freezing to 10-15 secs every ~30 secs. I'm looking at process information, and file "ashServ.exe" (or something like that) is tooking 100% of my CPU usage. What's happening? I cannot normally work ???

My PC - Athlon 3800+ AMD, 2 GB RAM, Win XP with SP2 and all updates

P.S. Sorry for my english ;)

FoKuS

  • Guest
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2007, 08:38:56 PM »
ah, I forgot - fully disabling resident shield of Avast resolving problem...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2007, 08:41:16 PM »
We will need more information to be able to help you:
- What avast! version and VPS file (virus database) number?
- Which actions have you taken to try solving the problem?
- Do you use a firewall? Which one?
- Do you have any other antivirus installed in your system?
- Any other security programs that could interfere?
- Any useful information into Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Events, specially 'Errors'.

This is not an easy problem to follow... I mean, it's difficult to say why it's hanging... we must know (guess) what is making it hang, what it is scanning at that time...
The best things in life are free.

FoKuS

  • Guest
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2007, 08:46:21 PM »
We will need more information to be able to help you:
- What avast! version and VPS file (virus database) number?
- Which actions have you taken to try solving the problem?
- Do you use a firewall? Which one?
- Do you have any other antivirus installed in your system?
- Any other security programs that could interfere?
- Any useful information into Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Events, specially 'Errors'.

This is not an easy problem to follow... I mean, it's difficult to say why it's hanging... we must know (guess) what is making it hang, what it is scanning at that time...
-latest :)
-i dont know what to do, as I said in previous post - disabling resident shield solving the problem
-I'm dont using firewall, I have firewall in router
-no
-I only have Spybot
-nothing from avast :) No errors at all

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2007, 08:50:33 PM »
Let's try?

1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot.
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete uninstallation.
4. Boot.
5. Install again
6. Boot.

It's a tentative to see what we get in a clean installation.
The best things in life are free.

FoKuS

  • Guest
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2007, 08:55:12 PM »
well, I tried to disable and re-enable all shields (mail, web, p2p etc) and everything seems to working ok now... Weird ;D I'm looking into it still, and I'll post again, if problem's repeat. But now... everyting is ok again ;)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2007, 09:25:36 PM »
Is the on-access scanner's sensitivity set to Normal or High? If High, try changing to Normal...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

FoKuS

  • Guest
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2007, 09:50:10 PM »
well, it happened again. I reinstalled avast - no result. Scanner is set on normal ;) I've tried to disable windows firewall, not happened too, same CPU usage as before. I have screenshot for it, so I'm posting it here. This occuring every 20-30 seconds, and I cant click anything, I just can move my mouse (with terrible lag...)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2007, 09:55:05 PM »
I see uTorrent is currently running. Is it downloading any files?
Can you try stopping the avast P2P provider?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

FoKuS

  • Guest
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2007, 09:59:23 PM »
yay, it works! PC stops freezing! :D I used search on the forums with "torrent" after your post, and I see that many people have problem with uTorrent (or any p2p program?). And yes, uTorrent is downloading files ;) I disabled p2p shield and everyting is ok now, but any ideas why Avast runs bad with uTorrent active? ;)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2007, 10:09:57 PM »
It really depends on what you're downloading. uTorrent keeps closing/reopening the files in transit, and on each such occasion, avast rescans them. If the files are huge it can take a long time.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

FoKuS

  • Guest
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2007, 10:14:15 PM »
Well, I'm using Avast since long time, uTorrent aswell, and this happened first time to me today (since avast program update) so I was thinking that the reason is here :) I'm always downloading files like 600mb-1gb (I'm Linux fan, so many distributions to download ;)) and I dont have this problem since today. But nevermind, disabling P2P shield solves the problem, so everyting is ok now :)

Thanks for help Vlk :) And keep it up, you are doing great work as Avast :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: CPU usage since last program update...
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2007, 10:40:59 PM »
But nevermind, disabling P2P shield solves the problem, so everyting is ok now :)
It just turn around the problem, does not solve it...
Where are you checking the Normal sensitivity of the provider? Is it Standard Shield?
If you just uncheck the option to scan open/created/modified files, will it help?
The best things in life are free.