Author Topic: Major lagging?  (Read 6422 times)

digitalreign

Major lagging?
« on: April 21, 2007, 07:28:25 AM »
Hi, I'm May and I'm new to using avast! anti-virus home edition (FREE). I've been using it for about a week, along with a ZoneAlarm Pro firewall, Javacool's SpywareBlaster, SpyBot- Search & Destroy and AVG Anti-Spyware (FREE).

After a couple of days of using all of these programs, I tried to download the SP2 Microsoft Update, but it didn't work. Apparently, something was wrong with my registry, and my friend told me to do the Compaq System Recovery. I was going to do that when I had time off, but then I started experiencing problems with lagging. On Thursday around 4:30PM my computer lagged like crazy. I would double-click Mozilla Firefox and it wouldn't open. I tried other programs -- nothing. I restarted the computer, hoping that would fix it, but it was STILL like that. Then I had to leave for something, and when I came back around 7 PM, it was perfectly fine again, but I had clicked Mozilla like ten times, so there were 10 windows open.

I thought it was a one time thing, but it happened again today. I would click something, but it wouldn't open. Then after a while, it would finally open. So I was so frustrated that I finally just did the Compaq System Recovery around dinnertime and I redownloaded all of the programs, except the ZoneAlarm firewall and the AVG Anti-Spyware (FREE). I didn't have any problems till around 9PM when it lagged once again and nothing moved. I even tried ALT+CTRL+DEL, but nothing popped up. Like half an hour later, it worked again.

I figured it was probably all the programs I downloaded that lagged my computer. I checked my CPU and it was all the way at 100% most of the time! So right now, I have all of the programs that I installed earlier uninstalled.