Author Topic: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error  (Read 17659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BUFF

  • Guest
AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« on: April 23, 2007, 09:01:59 AM »
version: 4.7.986 installed today and after 2 or 3 hours of running I got an error saying Avast couldn't auto update and On'Access Protection stopped working at the same time and will not restart.  When I click the a icon I get the RPC error.  I tried the link to the FAQ for this error and tried all the things it said to try and no help.  I'm running XP SP2 and its up to date.  I have uninstalled Avast twice and no help with same error.  I have used Avast for years and never had a problem before.

One note I did notice the date on my computer was off by one day.  It was set to 21 April vice the 22rd when Avast was updated to the new version.  I updated to the new version using the pop up window telling me a new version was available.

I have tried the Avast removal tool no help.  Repairing Avast no help and I have just removed and reinstalled it for the third time with no help.  As stated above I used the Avast removal tool and used a Reg Vac after the uninstall to clean the reg.  Still have the error.  The DCOM tool didn't help.

Really could use some help here, Thanks in advance.

BUFF
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 10:00:48 AM by BUFF »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2007, 12:09:05 PM »
Hi BUFF, and welcome to the avast forums.

So, if you head to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services, what is the current status of the "Avast! Antivirus" service? Is it started? If not, can it be started? If not, what error message are you getting?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2007, 12:40:55 PM »
Hiya

I can say one thing...you're not the only one with that error, Buff  :-\
And for Vlk...the "Avast! Antivirus"-service is 'started' for me. It's running, but the taskbar-icon got the red circle with a red line right through it (with white background) on it.

Help would be gladly appreciated.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 12:43:57 PM by DarkLimpan »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2007, 12:43:25 PM »
So, in the Task Manager's Processes tab, you actually see "ashServ.exe"? (provided you check the "Show processes from all users" box at the bottom of the dialog).

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2007, 12:45:20 PM »
I do see it..and using 22,960kb of ram. (incase you'd ask)


I have to go now, tho..be back in an hour or so to check on solutions, if you guys can come up with something.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 12:49:02 PM by DarkLimpan »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2007, 01:00:58 PM »
It would be interesting to find out what happens if you restart the service. Does that make any difference (with respect to the (a) ball icon)?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2007, 02:41:52 PM »
Hey again.

Restarting the service 'removed' the red icon-thingy on the ball-icon at the taskbar. On-Access protection is running, but i still get update-errors.

It say under Summary:

"Information about current update:
Last encountered error: The package is broken.

Total time: 20 s

- Program: Already up to date
  (current version 4.7.986)
- Vps: Already up to date
  (current version 000735-1)

Server: download108.avast.com ..."

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2007, 03:15:33 PM »
Restarting the service 'removed' the red icon-thingy on the ball-icon at the taskbar. On-Access protection is running, but i still get update-errors.
But after you boot, will the error happen again?
Does this occur only with automatic updates or also with manual ones?
Does this happen at any time or just after boot/logon?
Which firewall do you use?
The best things in life are free.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2007, 03:49:51 PM »
1. Haven't done a reboot since I got it to work, tho.
2. It seems I only get the error on auto-updates..but nothing happens when trying a manual one..on either "iAVS" or program updates.
3. Not sure.
4. Windows XP's firewall...

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2007, 03:52:36 PM »
Although, when I did the manual update, Windows' Security-messege tells me "avast! antivirus 4.7.986 [VPS 000000-0]" may be too old. Not completly sure what that means.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86809
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2007, 04:07:31 PM »
Check your system date, especially the month and year, adjust as required.

Though the VPS of 000000-0 is not valid.

avast! VPS Update - Manual Download
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 04:12:36 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2007, 04:13:55 PM »
After 3 reboots, I finally got the comp to start everything up properly..sort of. There's no red thing on the (a) ball icon, but according to WinXP's security center, it tells me the same msg. When I right-click on the ball-icon and chooses "About Avast!.." and presses the + icon beside "VPS file (virus database), it say "Cannot obtain imformation: VPS file was destroyed." :-\

An auto-update was completed after last boot-up, too..saying:

"- Vps: Updated
  (previous version: 000735-1, updated version: 000735-2)"


Note: Correct date and time on the computer-clock  :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2007, 04:42:43 PM »
000735-2 is the latest VPS version right now. Seems ok now.
The best things in life are free.

BUFF

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2007, 05:22:30 PM »
Hi BUFF, and welcome to the avast forums.

So, if you head to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services, what is the current status of the "Avast! Antivirus" service? Is it started? If not, can it be started? If not, what error message are you getting?

Thanks
Vlk

It's not running. It is set to Auto.  When I try to start it I get error 1068. .
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 07:39:29 PM by BUFF »

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2007, 05:22:59 PM »
Tried to update manually with that download, said it was already up to date, but still saying it's 'destroyed' at the "About avast"-screen.