Author Topic: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error  (Read 17775 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BUFF

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #30 on: April 26, 2007, 04:58:42 AM »
Please try doing a repair of avast installation.
Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> avast! Antivirus -> Change/Remove -> Repair (scroll the list on the left down to see this option).

Thanks
Vlk

Didn't work.  I've tried it and also uninstalling and reinstalling 4 times now.

BUFF

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #31 on: April 26, 2007, 09:10:03 AM »
Generally, Spyware Doctor users MUST disable the Spyware Doctor's on-access scanner (called "OnGuard") prior to installing/repairing avast. There's a nasty bug in the current version of SD that prevents the process from completing successfully.

DarkLimpan, your problem seems to be of different nature. It seems that the new VPS integrity checks implemented in the latest avast builds somehow don't work in your case. I'd be really keen to find out where the problem is... I'll try to get someone look into this.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #32 on: April 26, 2007, 11:21:12 AM »
DarkLipman, could you please download this tiny program: http://public.avast.com/~vlk/checkvps.exe, place it to the avast folder, then run cmd.exe (the command-line console), cd to the avast folder and run it from there? (with no parameters, just run it)

It should produce some stats about the VPS file, normally, it would look like this:

Check Avast Virus Definition File version 4
Copyright (c) ALWIL Software, 2001
===========================================

Tests   passed OK - file is fine

File type                      : 4.0011 HOME
File content version           : 1846.0
Compilation date               : 25.04.2007
Decompressed image size        : 10654336
Number of known segments       : 11
Limit of general segments      : 32
Standard short viruses         : 2502
Standard long viruses          : 92182
Polymorphic code segments      : 6
Polymorphic boot code segments : 1
Macro code segments            : 1
File ID routine descriptions   : 42
Virus URLs                     : 132
Virus Descriptions             : 1
File types                     : 60
Pack types                     : 14
Virus Flags                    : 322
INI type records               : 15
External Dlls                  : 3
  clnr.dll = \\pollux\createvps\aswCleanerDLL.dll
  dllcc.dat = \\pollux\createvps\aswDllCc.dat
  exts.dll = \\pollux\createvps\ScanExts.dll


Thanks
Vlk
« Last Edit: April 26, 2007, 11:22:58 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #33 on: April 26, 2007, 04:44:12 PM »
Downloaded the file and tried to run it at the "DOS-prompt" (as I'd call it).. Typed "C:\Program\Alwil Software\Avast4\checkvps.exe", the result looks like this:

"Check Avast Virus Definition File version 4
Copyright (blabla)
===================

Not enough command line parameters
 Use CheckVps <version 4 filename>"

Did I do all that correct, or did I miss something?  :)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11818
    • AVAST Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #34 on: April 26, 2007, 04:52:47 PM »
It needs a path to the VPS file as an argument, i.e. if you are in avast! installation folder, it would be
checkvps.exe Data\400.vps

Or, the full commandline:
C:\Program\Alwil Software\Avast4\checkvps.exe "C:\Program\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\400.vps"

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #35 on: April 26, 2007, 05:04:22 PM »
Ok, i can get two diffrent results with that command..one when the file is working, and another when it's been detroyed..the second says: "Stage 01 failed - decompression"..can upload a screenshot of the first results if you wish..  :)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11818
    • AVAST Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #36 on: April 26, 2007, 05:07:06 PM »
Please upload both of them.
Any special way to "make the file work", or it just works sometimes after reboot, and doesn't work other times?
Thanks!

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #37 on: April 26, 2007, 06:42:48 PM »
Huh, "two different results" sounds really strange. They should be consistent... :-)

I've added slightly more info to the program's output - please redownload it and use the new version. Then post back what it says.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #38 on: April 26, 2007, 07:45:00 PM »
Igor: It seems to be random, and not only on reboot, but like anytime after a successful update :S and uploading the more complicated result for ya.

Vlk: When CheckVps fails, it say:
"DSA_FileVerify FAILED!
Starge 01 failed - decomplession"

Sorry for responding slow, btw  :-\

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #39 on: April 26, 2007, 09:26:03 PM »
Extraordinary indeed!
Hmm... would it be possible to get remote desktop access to your machine?
E.g. using www.logmein.com
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #40 on: April 26, 2007, 11:25:08 PM »
If so, that'd be tomorrow (friday) after I get home from work (around 16:30 CET)...

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #41 on: May 02, 2007, 12:23:25 AM »
the person dissapeared
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #42 on: May 04, 2007, 05:39:34 PM »
Not dissapeared...just gotten busybusy with work and such :-/ but I do still have the same issue.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #43 on: May 04, 2007, 08:34:02 PM »
But I do still have the same issue.
So, follow Vlk's advice 8)
The best things in life are free.

DarkLimpan

  • Guest
Re: AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #44 on: May 14, 2007, 08:58:54 PM »
Well, hey again. Pardon my busy:ness, ect.
Vlk, can you help out on the 16th? :-\ And if you won't help cuz of the fact that this is a 'pirate-copy', I don't care...if I had the money, I'd buy something else..  :-\