Author Topic: Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet  (Read 12123 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
I updated program version and had to re-register. I sent this message to Avast! team in the end of registration process, but I think you might tell me have anyone had somekind of like re-registration needs I have.

"Have used Avast! home edition for a couple of months now. I'm quite satisfied of it and think it works fine. Just some things are wondering. For example why always have to re-registrate home edition when you are performing automatic update for newer program version?

And another thing (feedback), computer startup is quite slow because of avast. I'm sure that it is avast that is slowing because boot goes ok untill there comes a time to load avast. Then it will take about 20 seconds to load avast. Os is WinXP and hardware is quite powerfull.

But afterall, those are minor things if you look the whole case. I'll put this message also to avast forum, so you won't have to answer to me only."

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2004, 04:33:45 PM »
And let you constant members of this forum know, that now Avast! and Zonealarm are working together in my computer. Previously I fought with ZA because it didn't like to install to my computer, but when I bought new hardware and tried again everything went fine  :).

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2004, 06:42:51 PM »
I estimated the time Avast! and ZA to load and it was over 1 minute (time after when desktop is on screen and other programs have loaded)!! Then they both loaded at the same time. Could there be a possibility that ZA is somehow interfering avast! and that's why it/they (avast and ZA) take so long time to load.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2004, 08:04:42 PM »
Have used Avast! home edition for a couple of months now. I'm quite satisfied of it and think it works fine. Just some things are wondering. For example why always have to re-registrate home edition when you are performing automatic update for newer program version?

That is really strange. Do you have your system clock set correctly?
Did it happen multiple times?

As for the slowdown problem... it's strange - many users run ZA and avast! together without any problems. Maybe you could try to disable/uninstall some resident providers to see if it changes anything...

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2004, 11:30:41 AM »
Yes, clock is in rigth time. And as far as I can remember It has happened twice, both times I autoinstalled newer version of program. Virus databases have been updated quite often and those installations have gone well.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2004, 02:12:58 PM »
In windows xp: start > run > msconfig there you can select what programs are loaded when windows starts. Disable Avast or ZA and see if it is really one of them that causes the slow boot or not. It might also be caused by some other program. Don't forget to enable them after testing!!! ;D Tell in this thread what you have found out. This might help us to give better support.

Offline pcon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2004, 08:40:17 PM »
I've got the same registration problem.  I've used Avast for about 2-3 months and have had to re-register twice.  Any ideas on how to correct this?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2004, 08:52:06 PM »
Any chance you are using a keygen-generated s/n -> an illegal copy of avast Professional Edition? ;)

With each update, we're adding entries to the blacklist of s/n's so that would explain it. But you wouldn't probably have the balls to ask this question then, right? ;D

Can you post your s/n -- only the part before the dash.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2004, 01:51:59 PM »
Any chance you are using a keygen-generated s/n -> an illegal copy of avast Professional Edition? ;)

With each update, we're adding entries to the blacklist of s/n's so that would explain it. But you wouldn't probably have the balls to ask this question then, right? ;D

Can you post your s/n -- only the part before the dash.

Thanks
Vlk

Vlk, is there any way to a legal user have his number stolled?
If so, can the user 'change' his registration key?

Won't Alwil, in the future, have a 'activation' key?  ;)
Why don't avast crosslink the hardware configuration with the registration key to avoid 'clones'?
The best things in life are free.

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2004, 09:34:56 AM »
I'm using the Avast! home-edition, so the illegality is out of question in my case. Part of my license key (before dash) is W1080496H1400A0106.

For this slow boot -problem, I tried to disable Avast! and ZA, and still it took quite long time to load . So the problem is not in Avast! or ZA? This time close network connection and messenger -icon took that long time to load. Maybe that is cause because I'm using two network cards, normal 3Com's 10/100 Mbit "close network" card (that is connected to anywhere, just have that card and put it into computer), and Alink's homePNA card for connection to internet.

When I used that msconfig, and did those changes to system, it allways came back to that msconfig window after boot. How can I remove messenger from startup list, because I'm not using it and still it is allways in backround for no reason. And I mean removing messenger so, that the startup is in normal mode.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2004, 09:57:22 AM »
The key is perfectly OK. Such a key IS valid till April 2005. Who/what is telling you that you need to re-register?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline MHJ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • yea that's me
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2004, 01:19:53 PM »
I'm using the Avast! home-edition, so the illegality is out of question in my case. Part of my license key (before dash) is W1080496H1400A0106.

Check your PC-Clock maybe it's set to a date above april 2005 ?
If so, set it right, reboot and re-enter your key...
if you were ever infected by a virus... you are not alone

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2004, 03:11:38 PM »
The key is perfectly OK. Such a key IS valid till April 2005. Who/what is telling you that you need to re-register?

Sorry if expressed myself unclearly, but re-registration is required when I autoinstall new program version (at least 2 times I've done that program update). I mean that autoinstall when Avast! announces that new program version is available and so on.. I think that those kind of like program version updates are ment to be done without registration. And the key I gave, is the new key I got after last registration.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2004, 03:36:15 PM »
When exactly are you asked for the key? When you click on the blue window announcing the program update... or after the update is done... or after you restart the computer, when you start the updated avast! for the first time?

Offline B4349

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:Avast! needs to be re-registered even though haven't used 12 months yet
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2004, 08:39:54 AM »
When exactly are you asked for the key? When you click on the blue window announcing the program update... or after the update is done... or after you restart the computer, when you start the updated avast! for the first time?

As far as I can remember, key was required after update. I think registration went just like I was installing program for the first time, though was only updating it. Tell me, are those updates how nessesseraly? I waited some time before I made those updates, but when Avast! is allways offering update when I'm connected to Internet I decided to update.