Author Topic: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?  (Read 10881 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vaderag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« on: April 29, 2007, 12:06:22 PM »
Hi,
I use avast 4 home and really love it except for one thing...
The context menu makes my right click menu massive when i click on things as it shows the whole file name (and i have some pretty long file names!)
Is it possible to just show "Scan" or similar, without the file name?! Or even set the number of characters to display?

Thanks

Offline tsilo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 12:52:07 PM »
I think will be good only by default show in context menu: Scan with avast! or samply Avast! Antivirus.  :P

Offline vaderag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2007, 01:23:24 PM »
I wish it did do that by default, however i cant find a way to do it at all?!? Anybody know if its possible, or am i stuck?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80990
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2007, 02:15:36 PM »
As far as I'm aware there isn't a way of changing the context menu not to display the file name to be scanned. The only thing I see is not to display the icon, but the 'scan' file name is still present, so that is no help.

I recall this being asked once before and the official answer was no there wasn't a way to do this. You could add it to the Wishlist Topic. The problem is if fixed as just a scan with avast! there are likely to be those who like the file name being displayed, so you can't please everyone. I don't know if they could have an extra program setting under the Explorer Extension, not to display the file name.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.2.2364/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67278
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2007, 02:59:13 PM »
I think the only way is Alwil changing the ashShell.dll linked with the Context Menu entry.
But, indeed, it's a good suggestion do not having all the name displayed in the Context Menu.
The best things in life are free.

Offline tsilo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2007, 09:43:20 PM »
There isn t way change context menu with regedit?  ::)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67278
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2007, 09:49:00 PM »
There isn t way change context menu with regedit?  ::)
There is... but the info seems to be hardcoded into that dll... you must 'change' the dll and only avast could do so.
I use a program called ContextEdit to allow/disable items, but it won't change the contents and the behavior of the dll either.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80990
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2007, 09:52:40 PM »
I doubt there is anything hard coded in the registry but as Tech mentions in the avast shell. I just wonder if there is anything you can do in something like TweakUi but that is probably limited to removing the context menu entry rather than editing it.

I have never found it intrusive enough to even consider it, I don't use the context menu scan very often. I tend to use avast's ashQuick.exe command line scan to scan any downloads, most downloaders have the ability to call on an AV scan of the downloaded file.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.2.2364/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11632
    • AVAST Software
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2007, 02:57:10 PM »
You can put ShellExtensionFileName=0 into [UserInterface] section of avast4.ini (in the latest build of avast!).
This way, the filename won't be displayed in the context menu.

Offline vaderag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2007, 04:48:36 PM »
Just tried that, but it doesnt work :( (Using 4.7 home)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11632
    • AVAST Software
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2007, 04:52:00 PM »
What avast! build do you have? (from the About box, for example)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80990
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2007, 04:55:10 PM »
Works for me, 4.7.1001, are you sure you have the last build and placed the entry in the [UserInterface] section.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.2.2364/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline vaderag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2007, 06:16:05 PM »
Seems i didnt have the latest version - updating (cant restart just at the moment), but i'll test on reboot!
Hope it works! Cheers!!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67278
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2007, 08:17:33 PM »
You can put ShellExtensionFileName=0 into [UserInterface] section of avast4.ini (in the latest build of avast!). This way, the filename won't be displayed in the context menu.
Thanks Igor. Can you help me with other settings?
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=1647.msg229552#msg229552
The best things in life are free.

Offline martosurf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • www.supportkevin.com - Support Kevin Kjonnas SHAC7
Re: Context menu only show "Scan" and not the file name?
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2007, 09:03:23 PM »
I really enjoy seeing file name I'm just to scan  ::)  I never had a issue with it but now Igor show a method to hide it, well, I guess avast! still perfect  ;)
"Emancipate yourself from mental slavery / none but ourselves can free our mind" - Bob Marley