Author Topic: Account Sync Problem  (Read 3870 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Anonymous8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Account Sync Problem
« on: June 13, 2021, 08:03:36 AM »
I'm unable to sync my google account with my avast account. This is a new issue that I am not sure how to fix or approach. I keep receiving the prompt "service unavailable; try again later" along with being notified by said prompt that they cannot sync to my email address. Does anyone know the cause of this problem, and if so, can it be fixed or should I give up on this browser altogether?

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1684
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2021, 09:54:33 AM »
Hi,

Are you trying to enable syncing in Avast Secure Browser?
Please see this guide https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Sync-Secure-Browser/
If something else, please clarify. Perhaps you can add a screenshot for us to have a better overview.
Please see this article on how to generate a screenshot. https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Create-screenshot

Offline Anonymous8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2021, 09:54:18 PM »
Hello, I do not have an avast account. In place of one, I used the option to sign in with my google account. Perhaps that may be the reason why I am experiencing this issue? I will take your advice to screenshot what I've been experiencing. Thank you for your reply.

Offline Anonymous8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2021, 10:23:20 PM »
Hi,

Are you trying to enable syncing in Avast Secure Browser?
Please see this guide https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Sync-Secure-Browser/
If something else, please clarify. Perhaps you can add a screenshot for us to have a better overview.
Please see this article on how to generate a screenshot. https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Create-screenshot

I fear that due to me not buying anything from avast, I am not going to be given an email to contact them of my current plight. Is there an email I can use to contact them? I've followed your instructions thus far, and have been stopped here. I know not how to contact them without an email address(from them). I fear that due to me using the free product, my issue may get ignored.

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1684
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2021, 06:18:13 PM »
Hi,

The email address you used to access this forum is linked to an Avast account.
Are you using this email to sync Avast Secure Browser or another email?
For syncing to work - the email address needs to be linked to an Avast account.

You can post the screenshot on this forum.
When replying, click on + Attachments and other options
For email support, you need to have a paid product.
For none paid products we offer support via the forum.

Offline iamAnn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2021, 04:22:30 PM »
I am having the same problem.I already have an Avast Account. And each time I try and sign in to sync my avast secure browser I get this error message. Please help

http://prntscr.com/1rhmo2y


Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1684
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2021, 04:45:09 PM »
I am having the same problem.I already have an Avast Account. And each time I try and sign in to sync my avast secure browser I get this error message. Please help


Hi,

Can you log into ( id.avast.com )?


Offline iamAnn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2021, 08:10:09 AM »
I am having the same problem.I already have an Avast Account. And each time I try and sign in to sync my avast secure browser I get this error message. Please help


Hi,

Can you log into ( id.avast.com )?

Yes I can

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1684
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2021, 08:58:42 AM »
I am having the same problem.I already have an Avast Account. And each time I try and sign in to sync my avast secure browser I get this error message. Please help


Hi,

Can you log into ( id.avast.com )?

Yes I can

Hi,

On which device does this error occur? Do you sign in using your yahoo.com email or via one of the other two options? Do you have any bookmarks or history to sync on the device you are trying to sync? Which version of Secure Browser do you have (Menu > About Avast Secure Browser)?

Offline iamAnn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2021, 04:18:12 AM »
this happens on my laptop. I already have bookmarks/history on my avast secure browser and would like to sync it to my existing avast account so I can access the bookmarks from my android phone or a new laptop.

Avast Secure Browser
Version 92.2.11577.159 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46120
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2021, 01:40:43 PM »
this happens on my laptop. I already have bookmarks/history on my avast secure browser and would like to sync it to my existing avast account so I can access the bookmarks from my android phone or a new laptop.

Avast Secure Browser
Version 92.2.11577.159 (Official Build) (64-bit)
In the affected browser, can you see this in your settings?

Your account will reflect your information.


Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline iamAnn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2021, 04:08:10 PM »
this happens on my laptop. I already have bookmarks/history on my avast secure browser and would like to sync it to my existing avast account so I can access the bookmarks from my android phone or a new laptop.

Avast Secure Browser
Version 92.2.11577.159 (Official Build) (64-bit)
In the affected browser, can you see this in your settings?

Your account will reflect your information.

This is what I see in the affected browser, so I know I'm already logged in to the account.



but when I click on it, I see this...


Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46120
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2021, 04:29:55 PM »
I've reported your problem to Avast. Let's see if that helps.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline iamAnn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2021, 05:46:31 AM »
I've reported your problem to Avast. Let's see if that helps.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. I have been trying and troubleshooting but it doesn't work so far. Hopefully, they can resolve this soon.

Offline Olga Fomicheva

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Account Sync Problem
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2021, 11:39:54 AM »
Thank you for reporting the issue.

Unfortunately, I couldn't replicate the case, so we need to investigate more. More details will be helpful.
This kind of issue can happen if something blocks access to sync servers (antivirus or firewall rule maybe).

First, please try to update to the latest browser version or uninstall/install the latest version.
Also, please check what happens inside secure://sync-internals/.
If sync is enabled, this page should reflect it. On the first, 'About' page please check values for "transport state", "sync feature enable", "auth error", "sync protocol log", "type info".
If you want to share screenshots of that page, please make sure it includes only requested values, not other data, that might be sensitive.

Thank you!