Author Topic: help  (Read 4747 times)

carrie

help
« on: May 26, 2007, 03:48:31 AM »
i just downloaded avast home editon and now i cant access the internet..it doesnt even ask for permissiin..can anyone help

daronmiller

Re: help
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2007, 03:51:21 AM »
OK, Carrie, I'm a novice, but.... I like to believe that carma plays a role in life......so....

What do you mean you can't connect to the internet?

Daron

daronmiller

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2007, 03:52:52 AM »
Sorry, i meant "asking for help"..."providing" help novice. I am fairly computer literate. So what is happening?

Daron

carrie

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2007, 03:53:56 AM »
i just got a new computer..i had avast before and when i first downloaded it on my old computer it would ask if its ok to display this web p[age..i guess its called learning...well i doenloaded it on my new computer and i have to disable it to get on the internet. it just wont let me connect. its not even asking for permission...can you help im very frustrated

daronmiller

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2007, 03:58:19 AM »
OK, I'm NOT an avast expert (as shown by my OWN post), but I am looking into avast options.....   (Experts, please help. OK. Laugh first....THEN help.)

:)

mauserme

« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2007, 04:43:12 AM »
The avast! web shield acts as a proxy in order to scan your internet traffic, so you need to allow C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe internet access in your firewall.

You will also want to allow C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe  and C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2007, 03:08:16 PM »
i just downloaded avast home editon and now i cant access the internet..it doesnt even ask for permissiin..can anyone help