Author Topic: How can i translate Avast! in my language?  (Read 23192 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9271
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2004, 10:00:58 PM »
Ok its gonna take a bit longer...
...lots of dialogs to edit...
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11712
    • AVAST Software
Re:How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2004, 10:19:04 PM »
Btw, wouldn't it be better to somehow divide the work, if more people are working on it?

What tool do you use for the editing? I may have some remarks... like, it's important to translate the text, but it's not important to resize the controls. If the editing is done in the DLL files directly, the information on the control sizes will be lost anyway when we'll import it in the translation program (in fact, the only thing that will remain is a "dictionary"). It would be better to use the source RC files... but it may require other tools to use.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9271
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2004, 10:30:01 PM »
Well this translation would be more patch than a real translation (ENGLISH folder remains on its current location with all the files inside,they're just replaced with translated ones).
All translations done in dll files were working correctly after i replaced them,including Boot-Time scan strings,i just encountered new program version update window for now...

Problem with limited text space was also solved with alternative usage of words with the same meaning :)

I can also create full auto-patcher for this language pack,so there is no problem,i just need to finish translation ;)
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11712
    • AVAST Software
Re:How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2004, 10:51:27 PM »
Well, I was just trying to save you some work...
It is not really necessary to fit all the translated text into "English" controls - most controls can be resized, many (though not all!) windows can be resized as whole.

Offline BIBLOS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • Lost in translations
Re:How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2009, 02:19:24 PM »
Well, it is allowed .... - but it's not as easy....
The strings are stored in multiple files - most of them in the resources of the DLLs in the corresponding language folder (e.g. directory "English" in the avast! installation directory - Lang.dll, Base.dll, Mai.dll).
If you had a resource editor, it would be possible to translate them using it - but it certainly wouldn't be very comfortable. I could send you the source .RC files, together with some info about it - but it's not much better.

For an easy translation....
Good day!
We can translate to Ukriane, but I see its "big problem" :) May be, tray use "gettext" system?!
What You say?
With respect,
BIBLOS!

1,67GHZ, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows 7 starter 32bit - netbook

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2009, 03:05:22 PM »
May be, tray use "gettext" system?!
The translation is done (must be) using a program called Passolo (http://www.passolo.com/).
The best things in life are free.

Offline BIBLOS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • Lost in translations
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2009, 03:33:52 PM »
May be, tray use "gettext" system?!
The translation is done (must be) using a program called Passolo (http://www.passolo.com/).
Thanks.
OK, where get file for translate?
« Last Edit: August 24, 2009, 03:50:36 PM by BIBLOS »
With respect,
BIBLOS!

1,67GHZ, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows 7 starter 32bit - netbook

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2009, 04:03:53 PM »
OK, where get file for translate?
I think there will be two waves of translation of version 5.
Before releasing (major languages), less than 10 languages.
After releasing version 5, all other ones will start to be translated.
The guy to send/receive files is Igor.
The best things in life are free.

Offline BIBLOS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • Lost in translations
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2009, 04:12:34 PM »
...Before releasing (major languages), less than 10 languages.
After releasing version 5, all other ones will start to be translated.
Not found any Avast translation on Ukraine :( !

The guy to send/receive files is Igor.
Understand
With respect,
BIBLOS!

1,67GHZ, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows 7 starter 32bit - netbook

Offline BIBLOS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • Lost in translations
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2009, 06:29:37 PM »
Quote from: Igor
Igor,

may I translate Avast to Ukraine? If Yes, send me please file with "source text for Passolo" (English or/and Russia).

With respect
BIBLOS
With respect,
BIBLOS!

1,67GHZ, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows 7 starter 32bit - netbook

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11712
    • AVAST Software
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #25 on: August 25, 2009, 11:05:28 AM »
Thanks for your offer.

We are working on avast! 5 now... but the user interface is not fully finished, so I'd rather wait for some time until it settles.

On the other hand, it wouldn't make much sense to start the translation of avast! 4 at that moment... so please be patient.

Offline BIBLOS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • Lost in translations
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2009, 09:33:25 PM »
Thanks for your offer.

We are working on avast! 5 now... but the user interface is not fully finished, so I'd rather wait for some time until it settles.

On the other hand, it wouldn't make much sense to start the translation of avast! 4 at that moment... so please be patient.

Of course everything is clear, thank you, but - how long to wait, 1 week, a month or more?

With respect
BIBLOS
With respect,
BIBLOS!

1,67GHZ, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows 7 starter 32bit - netbook

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2009, 09:42:20 PM »
Of course everything is clear, thank you, but - how long to wait, 1 week, a month or more?
Probably, October/November.
The best things in life are free.

Offline BIBLOS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • Lost in translations
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #28 on: August 25, 2009, 09:52:05 PM »
Of course everything is clear, thank you, but - how long to wait, 1 week, a month or more?
Probably, October/November.
:(

OK!
 :D "I'll be back"
With respect,
BIBLOS!

1,67GHZ, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows 7 starter 32bit - netbook

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: How can i translate Avast! in my language?
« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2009, 01:08:49 AM »
But my self i say its worth to wait for got something great. ;D

Mr.Agent