Author Topic: Avast! Script Blocker Problem  (Read 16597 times)

Offline scythe944

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
    • My Tech Blog
Avast! Script Blocker Problem
« on: May 24, 2007, 09:18:06 PM »
I'm a new I.T. Consultant for a few churches and their associated schools.  I've used other Anti-virus programs in the past, (AVG, McAfee, etc...) but I'm still pretty new to Avast.

I'm having a problem with Avast 4 Server Suite.  I have the ADNM Console installed and I have all of the clients controlled with it.

The problem is that there is a specific website that the teachers here are using that seems to being blocked (not blocked exactly, but it takes a LONG time to load, and prevents css from running. Ex. it shows html code in these forms on the website and doesn't show certain buttons or pictures etc.) by avast when they access it.  We initially thought it was the content filter on their sonicwall router, but later we found out that it's the script blocker, preventing css and other scripts from running on this website (we found this out by using Mozilla, and Avant Browser and since those browsers aren't being protected by avast, they work great).

Can I go somewhere in the ADNM console and make an, "allowed" website, where the script blocker won't run, (like a white-list) and then update the clients to make it work for them as well?

I don't know, but the ADNM software seems to be a little cumbersome, it's like you have to set the settings that you want, and then install the software on all of the clients, and hope that everything is set right the first time, otherwise you're stuck with it.

It seems to me like there should be an easier way to do things like reset the avast password on all clients, update avast program settings on the fly, and have all of the agents on the individual clients update the information.

Maybe there is a way, and I just haven't found it yet.  I don't really know.

Thanks for everyone's help in advance for my ignorance!