Author Topic: My Log from ComboFix continuation  (Read 117933 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #195 on: July 06, 2007, 10:58:51 PM »
Yes, I can get to the links using the other computers but, don't I need to get to the links from the one is messed up in order to fix it?
No, you need to print the instructions if you need them...

I mean, I thought it is something I have to download to the messed up computer
so it fixes it. Or it is a page where I can learn how to work with the problem?
Yes, learn, instructions...

I'm sorry to be so computer dumb,  :-[ but how I get the network settings?
Thanks for your patience. I'm glad I'm not next to you, my head would be full of lumps  ;D
Start Menu > Control Panel > Network connections
Choose the network you're using, right click it and choose Properties.
Post the TCP/IP settings clicking, again, on Properties. You can take screenshots of them.
The best things in life are free.

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #196 on: July 07, 2007, 05:05:19 PM »
Hi guys
No way. Tech
 The computer connects well to the network adapter
but it doesn't connect to the internet.
I started doing things at random .
At the AOL explorer page (off line) I clicked on file 
and then on Properties ( just guessing) and this is what
I found on the box that opened.

Cannot find Server
Protocol:         Unknown Protocol
Type               Not available
Connection      Not available
Address          res://D:Windows\system32
(URL)             \shdoclc:dll/dnserror.htlm#htt://yahoo.com
Size               Not  available

Create            Not available
Mocified          Not available

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #197 on: July 07, 2007, 07:06:10 PM »
I place the other computer in the same place
and I get Internet connection. But mine doesn't.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #198 on: July 07, 2007, 08:27:12 PM »
I place the other computer in the same place and I get Internet connection. But mine doesn't.
You`ve done a good test: the Internet connection seems to be working. The problem is in your computer.
Why don`t you try to reinstall (overinstall) Windows (without formating the disk)?
The best things in life are free.

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #199 on: July 07, 2007, 09:15:24 PM »
Thank you Tech

Quote
Why don`t you try to reinstall (overinstall) Windows (without formating the disk)?

Do I need the cd that comes with the computer to do this?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #200 on: July 08, 2007, 01:20:15 AM »
Do I need the cd that comes with the computer to do this?
Well... it will be good... but what you really need is the Windows original CD, if it is in the one that 'comes with the computer', no problems. But if not, no way, you need Windows CD.
The best things in life are free.

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #201 on: July 08, 2007, 01:38:26 AM »
Tech
This is unbelievable! I prayed God first to help me with the computer. I couldn't find the CD. I started doing things at random. I really can't remember what I really did (you know the steps). I know I went somewhere and I clicked on few processes that were stopped. I saw running, running, stopped, and I clicked on almost all that were stopped :o
I restarted the computer and opened the network adapter box and looked at the connections available and clicked on the word with the higher number
and Boom! I got connected!  :o  ;D Thank God!

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #202 on: July 08, 2007, 01:58:30 AM »
I ran the runner and here is the  report.

http://www.runscanner.net/report.aspx?report=13d8cfa6-44d4-4d59-b09f-1569c62712e6

There is no virus. Is there any other scan I can run to find out any problem in the computer besides viruses?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #203 on: July 08, 2007, 03:25:52 AM »
Your computer seems clean...

Is there any other scan I can run to find out any problem in the computer besides viruses?
Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
Secunia: http://secunia.com/software_inspector/
The best things in life are free.

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #204 on: July 09, 2007, 03:36:16 AM »
Tech
I ran the "secunia inspector" and it found around 4 programs that
need to be updated. I tried to update downloading the latest
version and for some reason they can't be downloaded but neither
can I delete the old file because rare as it is the add/remove 
page only has three programs I have downloaded lately.
All the programs which were in the computer before the
disaster happened disappeared from that page but exist in the
computer somewhere. I went to "search" and I found the ones
I want to delete but when I click "delete" it sends me to add/remove
to delete it. You get me?
I have decided to erase the whole computer. I don't know how to do that.
I'm moving what I saved in "My Favorites" emailing everything to myself.
That way I have all those interesting links in my emails folders.
When I finish I want to erase the whole computer and start from zero again. 
How can I do that?
Thank you
« Last Edit: July 09, 2007, 03:38:37 AM by haydee »

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #205 on: July 09, 2007, 04:39:40 AM »
I ran the Belarc and check this.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #206 on: July 09, 2007, 08:47:57 PM »
I ran the "secunia inspector" and it found around 4 programs that need to be updated. I tried to update downloading the latest version and for some reason they can't be downloaded but neither can I delete the old file because rare as it is the add/remove  page only has three programs I have downloaded lately.
Which applications are you talking about?

I have decided to erase the whole computer. I don't know how to do that.
That way I have all those interesting links in my emails folders.
When I finish I want to erase the whole computer and start from zero again. 
How can I do that?
Export your files and configurations Start > Accessories > System Tools
Safe the files generated to another drive (or USB).
Use the Windows CD and make a new installation...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #207 on: July 09, 2007, 08:48:23 PM »
I ran the Belarc and check this.
As you can see, your Windows is not updated!
The best things in life are free.

haydee

  • Guest
Re: My Log from ComboFix continuation
« Reply #208 on: July 10, 2007, 03:33:59 PM »
Hi Tech
I updated it. I updated Macromedia Flash Player and the Sun Java.
According to secunia they needed to be updated and the old versions expose the system to security threats.
The bad thing is that the add/remove page has none of the old programs in it. Only what I download now gets in there.

I wonder where all those old programs are.
When I try to delete any of them from the desktop icons it sends me to the add/remove page to delete them but they are not there.
Any idea where can they be?
 I won't do what I was planning (you know,to erase everything from the computer) since I don't have the Windows CD.
Anyway I updated Windows. All I need is to find the old programs to delete them.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 10:46:42 PM by haydee »