Author Topic: Opera M2 pop3 manual config.  (Read 5347 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sub-rosa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« on: February 22, 2004, 05:04:51 PM »
I tried last  night to manually configure Avast and Opera M2 so that my incoming pop3 mail would be scanned by Avast. I don't care about the outgoing scan for now. I followed the directions in the help file.

Step one: changing the file AVAST4.INI

I Opened avast4.ini file in Notepad editor.
I did not Find a section named [MailScanner].  So I created it and added this line into this section:

DefaultPopServer=myemailpops3server

so it looked like this:

[MailScanner]
DefaultPopServer=myemailpops3server

then I saved the file and closed it.

I Opened Opera >Mail>Manage Accounts

and went to 1 of my accounts and changed the Incoming Pop server to:

127.0.0.1

I saved this config.

I started M2 and checked my mail for the account I changed

error message said could not connect to Server.

What do I need to do to correct this and get it working?  ???

TIA

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2004, 05:15:26 PM »
Leave INI settings as they are and just enter these informations in M2 Opera client. This will scan all mails. I'm using it too and its very cool.

POP: localhost
User: your_username#pop.something.com
Pass: your_password

SMTP: localhost
User: your_username#smtp.something.com
Pass: your_password
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline sub-rosa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2004, 09:14:01 PM »
RejZor,

Appreciate your reply.

Here is what I did based on your post:

Opera>mail>manage accounts

edited 1 a/c

changed incoming server from: mymail.ups.com (fake info)

to: localhost

changed username from: sub-rosa (fake info)

to: sub-rosa#mymail.ups.com (fake info)

 


I must not be doing something right cause I still get this generic error:

POP3 server unavailable. Network problems?

however I know the pop3 a/c is working cause I just accessed prior using mailwasher & it pulls view of my email on the a/c.

I need more help please.


Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2004, 09:48:07 PM »
Oh and set Authentication to Auto.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2004, 10:00:11 PM »
And make sure ashMaiSv.exe is running
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2004, 10:05:42 PM »
And you need to run Mail Wizard even if it doesn't support opera M2. Use Automatically protect and enter localhost for both POP and SMTP in this wizard. This will activate Internet Mail module. Or its enough to just START this module?
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2004, 10:07:18 PM »
localhost is a nonsense value for the Mail Protection Wiz. Use real SMTP/POP server names
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline sub-rosa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2004, 10:13:41 PM »
And make sure ashMaiSv.exe is running

that was it, I started it manually by double clicking ashMaiSv.exe...

shouldn't it have started automatically since I had requested in the options for shield & mail (set for custom scan inbound)?

will this start automatically now? or do i need to tweek some option?



 

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2004, 10:34:51 PM »
Completing the Mail Protection Wizard will put it to the Run section of the registry so it will start automatically upon boot.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline sub-rosa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re:Opera M2 pop3 manual config.
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2004, 04:24:28 AM »
for the benefit of those using M2 who come after and search forums for the answer b4 posting, (as I did), looks like you can run either way, manual (have to manually start ashMaiSv.exe. I think the pop3 in M2 has to be localhost as noted above, but I'll experiment & post back if not) or automatic (run Avast mail protection wizard).

I tried both and prefer the manual method (less draw down on sys & user free resources - I have an easy access shortcut to ashMaiSv.exe, and also use a mail previewer...

whatever floats ur boat :)

Thanks to RejZoR & Vlk