Author Topic: firewall  (Read 868 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chrisbzeno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
firewall
« on: July 11, 2021, 08:35:11 PM »
avast firewall blocks my wifi extension booster. how do I get the firewall to allow it?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7054
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: firewall
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2021, 08:46:03 PM »
Is your Firewall Profile set to 'Private Network'?
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.8.2487b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5611b/ADU v.21.2b/ASB v.91.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/VS/ADU v.21.2b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline chrisbzeno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: firewall
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2021, 11:01:05 PM »
Yes

Offline chrisbzeno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: firewall
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2021, 11:15:03 PM »
Ii's on the list but has a red x through a funny looking symbol in stead of the usual WiFi symbol

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1590
Re: firewall
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2021, 03:12:33 PM »
Ii's on the list but has a red x through a funny looking symbol in stead of the usual WiFi symbol

Hi,

Can you attach a screenshot of it, please?
Is this your first time using your wifi extension booster with Avast?
If it worked in the past then perhaps a restart of your device might help.

Offline chrisbzeno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: firewall
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2021, 09:31:21 PM »
Thanks for responding with your help. I'm new at this avast forum site. I've had avast for years and have been using the booster along time. Haven't ever had this problem. Seems like whenever windows updates something gets screwed up. I'll try restarting again. I tried sending the screen shot and it said it was to big

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85583
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: firewall
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2021, 10:47:50 PM »
Thanks for responding with your help. I'm new at this avast forum site. I've had avast for years and have been using the booster along time. Haven't ever had this problem. Seems like whenever windows updates something gets screwed up. I'll try restarting again. I tried sending the screen shot and it said it was to big

Try cropping the screenshot to only include the Avast Firewall User Interface window.

The jpg image format may be smaller than the .png image format, but you should be able to reduce the resolution in both formats without loosing much detail.  My screen capture tool allows for reduction in bit rate (file size).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline chrisbzeno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: firewall
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2021, 12:15:42 AM »
Crazy, this morning it was working just fine? I don't know how it fixed it self. guess I'll run with it