Author Topic: Box  (Read 3610 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Box
« on: February 22, 2004, 06:47:13 PM »
Guys , I was playing a game, avast update box came up, It looked to be red, im not sure, it kinda was mixed with game screen, just wondering what it was, had no audio to it or anything.....

Thanks, just curious....
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Box
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2004, 06:53:01 PM »
I'd say it was the new skins announcement iNews published today. :)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:Box
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2004, 07:01:18 PM »
ahh ok Vik.......thanks....
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Box
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2004, 02:49:35 AM »
I'd say it was the new skins announcement iNews published today. :)

Thanks for the announcement... Will this kind of iNews be announced by this way, I mean, when new things appear they will be displayed by the iNews box?  :-*
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:Box
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2004, 04:06:47 AM »
Interesting question, this morning was the first time I'd "ever" seen that (in admittedly just a few months that I've used avast).  I think in the past generally new Inews has been included, or at least downloaded at the same time as, definition updates.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Box
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2004, 08:16:00 AM »
Yes you're right. We'd like to start sending iNews more often, keeping our user base better informed on what's going on. The iNews system is quite flexible and is in avast since version 4.0.0 (December 2002) so it's probably pity that we're not taking bigger advantage of it....

Things like

'Virus Xxx hiting big time' or
'New exploit discovered in Xxx - please apply appropriate patches'

are great candidates.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:Box
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2004, 07:12:49 PM »
I think it is a great idea, its like getting the important parts of the news delievered right to your door... Steller idea, just another reason why avast kicks ass ;D
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Box
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2004, 08:07:37 PM »
Vlk, is there any value in avast4.ini file for the time that iNews box is displayed before it goes away?
Can it be fixed and wait for the user interaction?  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:Box
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2004, 09:25:38 PM »
A thought I had, that I noticed when that popped up being displayed on the screen, during an online game of Half life, it caused the game to laaaaag really bad,  it tried to poke thru over the game, yet didnt succeed, which was probably the laaaging part. This also for regular updates also.

I certainly dont want these disabled, but is there a way to prevent them from trying to override a game, kinda like set it up as a pop under rather than try to go overtop running games. For the time avast shows the box, the game is unplayable till gone.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2004, 10:33:17 PM by Datagg »
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2