Author Topic: Is Web protection using Malaysian DNS Server IP?  (Read 7915 times)

Offline ddabrahim

Is Web protection using Malaysian DNS Server IP?
« on: July 23, 2021, 06:38:07 PM »
Hi.

Because of recent events, I have installed a network analyser app on my iPhone.
When I launch this app, it is display that my DNS Server IP is:

This is when I have Avast Web Protection enabled. If I disable it, I get the IP of my gateway as DNS IP which I think is normal so then I use the DNS set in my router.
So this is definitely the result of enabling Avast Web protection.
I did look up this IP and it seems to belong to an ISP in Malaysia called Maxis.

Now since I have no knowledge about how all this supposed to work, I am surprised because for one, in the VPN settings for Web protection I see a different address, my ISP DNS address is also different and second.. Malaysia? It is on the other side of the globe compared to my location. I find it weird.

So could anyone please confirm if the above Malaysian DNS IP is correct for Avast Web protection on iOS?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2021, 07:57:52 PM by ddabrahim »

Offline ddabrahim

Re: Malaysian DNS Server IP address for web protection?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2021, 09:01:33 AM »
So, I did more search and discovered that many people using free DNS servers like Google and others, do complain about that their DNS IP automatically change to 121.121.121.121 instead of 8.8.8.8 for example.

Some people was recommending to block 121.121.121.121 and redirect it to your actual DNS IP in IP configurations.