Author Topic: Restore Question  (Read 5784 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Stevepac

  • Guest
Restore Question
« on: January 22, 2009, 09:06:10 PM »
My computer keeps flashing kernel stack inpage errors, freezes at random and I get this event error:InitializePrintProvider failed for provider win32spl.dll. This can occur because of system instability or a lack of system resources.. Anyway Dell told me I need to do a complete restore on my computer. So I'll lose everyone. How can I re-claim my avast?

Sidenote: If anyone knows how to fix my kernel error without losing my stuff do share.

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 09:11:54 PM by Stevepac »

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3695
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 09:13:27 AM »
Not sure what you are asking for, here. A quick search indicates that this error is to do with printers, not AV.
It's your printer you should be troubleshooting, I think. I don't see where Avast fits into the equation.
Please feel free to correct, though.
Regarding not losing your stuff, you need to copy your important files etc, in order of importance, to an external media.
DVD or external hard drive would be good.
Computer manufacturers' help lines often provide the fix that's easiest for the technicians (or in some cases, operators) on the other end of the help line, not what is necessarily best for the customer, particularly if the best fix might be complex.
I don't know what Dell is like in this regard; never bought one.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

ardvark

  • Guest
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 05:52:03 PM »
Hi...

You might want to try the following if you have a legal copy of your operating system or a restore partition on your hard drive...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315265

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/187941

The latter link is an explanation of the different options or "switches" that are available using chdsk.

Let us know if this helps. :)

May God Bless you!
« Last Edit: January 23, 2009, 05:57:14 PM by ardvark »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47058
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2009, 11:07:01 PM »
Hi Stevepac,
It appears that you're already receiving qualified help. :)
http://thevistaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=44898
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://b

Stevepac

  • Guest
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2009, 02:26:58 AM »
You need to pay for Avast! correct? My question is that if I need to do a system restore how can I go about getting Avast back so I dont need to pay again?

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3695
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2009, 02:42:58 AM »
Stevepac, Avast Home is free, but needs to be registered every 14 months or so. Avast Pro is the pay for version. I don't know which one you have. Do you? (Right click the tray icon, select "about avast..")

The other thread at the vista forums suggests a few more problems than system restore is going to fix, I'm afraid. :'(
Just a suggestion: Go through the suggestions and steps recommended by your "helper" methodically, and post in detail what you have or haven't done (and if not, why not). Frost has been quite thorough in his advice, I don't know why there haven't been any replies to the thread for over a month, but it seems to me that a loose connection is very on the cards.
Do you have a geeky friend who knows his/her way around computer internals? Not that it's particularly difficult to work out, but you do need to be methodical. (And have a can of air, and some of that stuff for cleaning dirty connectors. A PC shop will know what you need.)
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47058
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2009, 03:31:46 AM »
Stevepac,
For dirty connectors, if you don't have the spray, an eraser will work.
Use the ones on the end of a pencil and make sure no residue is left on the card.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://b

Stevepac

  • Guest
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2009, 08:41:57 PM »
We did just about everything except any thing dealing with the wiring and I didnt buy more ram because I knew in the back of my mind that wasnt the problem. Yes I do run Pro btw.

So you is a can of air enough?

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3695
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Restore Question
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2009, 09:58:47 PM »
The can of air is to blow away dust. There will be a lot of dust. Get rid of most of it, especially from around the CPU.
Overheating may possibly be the problem, which removal of dust around the cpu fan can solve, but the main suspect here is a loose connector.
As for connectors, what bob3160 said. (Eraser if you don't have cleaner.)

Caution: Dust will go everywhere. Take suitable precautions.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.