Author Topic: Problem to Launch Avast 4  (Read 5126 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JLG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Problem to Launch Avast 4
« on: July 10, 2007, 05:57:33 PM »
Hello,

I downloaded Avast today, and after the instal, the soft stay unactive.
When I try to activate it manualy, I get this message " Impossible to open the device or the specified file" + "Screen Splash Avast can't load the configuration".

I already tryed to install again Avast and it still the same.

I use winXP and it's up to date.

Please Help !

Tanks

JLG

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71837
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 07:19:12 PM »
Have (or did) you another AV installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

Is the avast icon 'a' in the system tray ?
What avast processes are running in Task Manager, they begin with ash or asw ?
What other security based software do you have, anti-spyware, firewall, etc. ?
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2218 R2-SP2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 38.0.1, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline JLG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2007, 10:17:03 PM »
Thanks for your Help !!

Effectively, I had NOD 32 anti Virus before.

What I done is :
I stop NOD 32
I Installed Avast
I restarted the computer
I uninstalled NOD 32 with the NOD 32 uninstall software
I restarted the computer
Avast didn’t start
I Re-Installed Avast

Yes the Icon is in the system Tray, but there is a red Circle inside. This small circle is also crossed

There is 3 process running : ashDisp; ashServ; aswUpdSv

I also use Kerio Personal Firwall, that’s it for the resident security software.

Thanks again

JLG

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65865
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2007, 10:58:41 PM »
Effectively, I had NOD 32 anti Virus before.
I stop NOD 32
I Installed Avast
I restarted the computer
Disable is not enough...
Low level drivers, services, etc. will conflict.

I uninstalled NOD 32 with the NOD 32 uninstall software
I restarted the computer
Avast didn’t start
I Re-Installed Avast
Yes the Icon is in the system Tray, but there is a red Circle inside. This small circle is also crossed
There is 3 process running : ashDisp; ashServ; aswUpdSv
I also use Kerio Personal Firwall, that’s it for the resident security software.
Uninstall NOD32 from Control Panel then use the Uninstall tool.
Install avast from the scratch:

1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot.
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete uninstallation.
4. Boot.
5. Install again the last version.
6. Boot.
7. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.

Offline JLG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2007, 01:37:46 AM »
I didn’t find anything in the control panel to uninstall Avast. So I did the step 3 directly.

After the install of Avast I reboot and the Avast check the all computer. But when the computer was fully started Avast told me that the download of the virus list was done properly but it was still unstarted …

I tried to start manually the “standard shield”, it tells me “the service was not initialised.

JLG

Offline teessidetone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2007, 10:28:15 AM »
to my previous thread about outlook express and how uninstalling av has messed up the settings, how do i find out what my previous settings/details were so as to use outlook express again and send/receive emails? once i set up outlook express years ago, i havent altered it since, its just worked normally till now.

Offline JLG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2007, 06:35:05 PM »
Me again ;D
I restored my computer and did properly the uninstall of NOD 32.
I Installed Avast properly as well

And it stil tell me that "the specified service is not initialised"  :'(

Please Help

JLG

Offline Jaylow88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2007, 03:16:50 AM »
Hello:
I had a similar problem as JLG lately with Avast! 4home not loading properly and getting the "RPC Error".  I followed the FAQ suggestions and performed a repair, but nothing changed.  So, I figured since I have a registration key, I'll just uninstall Avast, re-download and start over. 

I did a "run" of the download and got a Window's error stating that the Publisher was unknown and lacking a digital signature??  So, I saved the setup file and tried running it again and I get this on the self extract:

"An error 1006 (0000003EE) has occurred.  Last performed operation was: opening the self-extract archive.  Try to download setup file again.  If you use IE clear it's cache"

Cache is cleared, and still nothing.  I do have Automatic updates set for Windows.  Do you think something came out where it won't let us use "free" antivirus programs anymore?

Granted, my PC is older than dirt and I'm do for an upgrade, but I am running XP if that has any bearing.

Any helpful suggestions out there?

Thanks!

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65865
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2007, 03:28:17 AM »
But when the computer was fully started Avast told me that the download of the virus list was done properly but it was still unstarted …
This is a common behavior of the presence of leftovers of bad uninstalled antivirus.
avast needs to be installed without other antivirus present, or disabled, or bad uninstalled.

I Installed Avast properly as well
And it stil tell me that "the specified service is not initialised"  :'(
Please, post the last 100-150 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
The best things in life are free.

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65865
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2007, 03:29:48 AM »
how do i find out what my previous settings/details were so as to use outlook express again and send/receive emails?
Please, can you open your own thread? This seems to be unrelated to JLG's problems...
The best things in life are free.

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65865
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2007, 03:31:48 AM »
Do you think something came out where it won't let us use "free" antivirus programs anymore?
A bad donwload... I don't think anything is blocking avast or anything that have changed the 'freeware' policy of avast...

Any helpful suggestions out there?
Can you open your own thread? 8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline JLG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2007, 03:33:41 PM »
Thanks Tech !!

Here is  the log File atached

JLG

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65865
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2007, 05:14:33 PM »
Quote
12.07.2007   09:41:53.000   1184226113   package   ERROR:HttpGetWininet, catch returned 0x00002EFD
If you search the board for 0x00002EFD, won't it help?

Quote
12.07.2007   09:45:57.000   1184226357   general   Part of license key: S9999999T9933A1106
You're using the trial version... can't you register the Home version after you install from the scratch?
The best things in life are free.

Offline JLG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2007, 07:49:04 PM »
Sorry, I don’t understand what you mean by “search the board for 0x00002EFD. What shall I do ?

I have a licence Key, after 3 or for Install I didn’t copy it at last …

JLG

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65865
Re: Problem to Launch Avast 4
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2007, 08:11:24 PM »
Sorry, I don’t understand what you mean by “search the board for 0x00002EFD. What shall I do ?
Click the button "Search" at the top of this page. Write down 0x00002EFD and search...
The best things in life are free.