Author Topic: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!  (Read 10525 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« on: July 14, 2007, 12:21:26 PM »
My problem is that after installation ashdisp.exe missing. On the system try i can't find the avast logo i can't uninstall avast and it does'nt auto update the virus database, im absolutly helpless what can i do ?? :((
As I remeber it began with two trojanas i delete it with avast and after Awast disapperad from system try.
I tryed to reinstall it but it began the problem that i written in my first rows. :(

Can Anybody HELP me ??? S.O.S im very affraid of viruses  :( i have many important data on my PC.

Thanks
Miklos
from Hungray

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2007, 01:48:32 PM »
Do you have any other antivirus in your computer? Did you have in the past?
Which is your Windows?
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2007, 01:53:42 PM »
I Have Windows XP with SP1  and no other antivirus software ! Only Spyware Terminator but they worked 1 year together without any problems.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2007, 02:11:37 PM »
1. Check the option in the Appearance tab of settings.
or
2. Repair your avast installation through Control Panel.
or
3. Make a link to ashdisp.exe in your startup folder
or
4. Add the path to ashDisp.exe into a value named avast! in the Windows Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
See picture here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=26155.msg213891#msg213891

If that does not help, please, uninstall, boot, install again, boot.
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2007, 02:35:54 PM »
I dont't have aspdisp.exe in my ...program fies/Awil Software/Avast4/
i have only the fallowing exe files :
ashBug.exe ashChest.exe ashLogV.exe ashQuick.exe ashSimp2.exe ashSkPcc.exe
ashUpd.exe aswRegSvr.exe copyx64.exe VisthAux.exe VisthLic.exe VisthUpd.exe

...but i have an error log file in avast4\DATA\log:
 2007.07.14.   13:39:58   1184413198   SYSTEM   1632   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.14.   13:39:59   1184413199   SYSTEM   1632   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
2007.07.14.   13:45:14   1184413514   Miklós   1708   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.14.   13:45:22   1184413522   Miklós   1708   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2007, 02:53:16 PM »
I dont't have aspdisp.exe in my ...program fies/Awil Software/Avast4/
It's ashdisp.exe.

Follow step 2 at least...
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2007, 02:58:23 PM »
Sorry ashdisp.exe i miswrite it. (2 step : i have 2 times reinstalled avast with the aswclear.exe file that i found in avast.com forums)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2007, 03:24:42 PM »
In which folder are you trying to install avast?
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2007, 03:41:38 PM »
Into the default location :
C:\ProgramFiles\Alwil Software\Avast4

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2007, 03:55:57 PM »
I Have Windows XP with SP1
Why didn't you update to SP2?
Did you have, in the past, any other antivirus?
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2007, 04:04:16 PM »
I had big problems With SP2. I become a virus that made a message window "do you want update SP2?" and the update was a virus. I had 999 windows on my screen my PC was totaly crashed i needed reinstall XP. I never never will put SP2 on my PC (i hate all this bubbles and firewalls and messages of XP2) 

I had before Virusbuster (hungarian viruskiller) but my licence was over and i searched other antivirus software.
I found NOD32 it works (was little complicated then Avast but worked)

So pls help me to repare avast othervise i need go back to NOD

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 14, 2007, 04:05:49 PM by nicola73 »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83768
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2007, 04:21:46 PM »
I Have Windows XP with SP1  and no other antivirus software ! Only Spyware Terminator but they worked 1 year together without any problems.

Doesn't Spyware Terminator have a start-up protection function ?
There are a number of anti-spyware programs that stop new entries being added to the startup of msconfig. This will kill the ashDisp.exe avast icon, check that this isn't happening with ST, it may be advisable to disable ST, reboot and reinstall avast.

The ashDisp.exe isn't part of the avast security but an interface to settings, etc.

As a temporary measure until this is resolved you can create a desktop shortcut for this file C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashDisp.exe (the avast icon and interface to the providers).  Right click on the file and select Send To, Desktop (create shortcut). You will need to run this after each boot until the problem is resolved.

Check the option in the Appearance tab of Program Settings. Or Make a link to ashdisp.exe in your startup folder.

WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.595) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2007, 04:23:28 PM »
I had big problems With SP2. I become a virus that made a message window "do you want update SP2?" and the update was a virus. I had 999 windows on my screen my PC was totaly crashed i needed reinstall XP. I never never will put SP2 on my PC (i hate all this bubbles and firewalls and messages of XP2) 
Downloading a legit copy from Microsoft won't give you *any* message on the screen...
Tons of SP2 users have it with comfort and joy.

I found NOD32 it works (was little complicated then Avast but worked)
The problem with a bad avast installation could due to the presence or remains of another antivirus. So you need to be sure that NOD32 and the other antivirus were completely removed, the registry is clean, etc.
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2007, 04:30:27 PM »
May be you are in a right way. If i make a system scan with Spyware Terminator i get the fallowing error :

The 'Invalid Startup Items' are items that are linked to non-existing file in your Registry.
Registry HKLM\...\PROGRA~\AWILS~\Avast4\ashDisp.exe

Anyay ashDisp.exe is not exist after installation of Avast in any directory of my System Drive !!!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83768
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #14 on: July 14, 2007, 04:39:57 PM »
You have to find the culprit that is deleting it and my suspect is ST even if you had remnants of NOD remaining the avast icon would still usually be their but have a red circle with bar over the avast icon to indicate that avast isn't running correctly.

Disable ST first and ,try a repair of avast. Add Remove programs, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Change/Remove button and scroll down to Repair, click next and follow. You need to be on-line to do this.

Hopefully this should restore the ashdisp.exe file, ensure that ST is disabled and reboot.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.595) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro