Author Topic: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!  (Read 10849 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #15 on: July 14, 2007, 04:48:44 PM »
If i by Add/Remove programs try to repair my Avast i get the fallowing window :

the 3rd window :
Proxy Server Settings

3 choices:
-Direct connection
-Auto Detect (default)
-Specify proxy server

under a button "Test Connection"

I DON'T HAVE ANY Connection to the AVAST SERVER !!!
But my Mozilla runs my internet connection is okey.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84109
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #16 on: July 14, 2007, 07:19:02 PM »
You aren't in the Windows, Control Panel, Add Remove programs, you are in the avast Program settings and there is no add remove/repair option in that.

Go to My Computer, Control Panel, Add Remove Programs, see image.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #17 on: July 14, 2007, 11:55:15 PM »
The pictures talking :





Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2007, 11:59:47 PM »
And Here Is The Setup Log:


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #19 on: July 15, 2007, 12:03:29 AM »
And Here Is The Setup Log
Better than a picture, post the last 100-150 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log

You can download servers.def from here: http://download1.avast.com/iavs4x/servers.def
Save it to C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\setup folder
Start the update again.
The best things in life are free.

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #20 on: July 15, 2007, 01:05:24 PM »
I changed the servers.def file but i get the fallowing error messages in E:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Warning.log :


2007.07.14.   13:39:58   1184413198   SYSTEM   1632   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.14.   13:39:59   1184413199   SYSTEM   1632   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
2007.07.14.   13:45:14   1184413514   Miklós   1708   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.14.   13:45:22   1184413522   Miklós   1708   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.15.   12:58:53   1184497133   Miklós   2560   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.15.   12:59:25   1184497165   Miklós   2812   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.15.   13:00:00   1184497200   Miklós   2812   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.15.   13:00:01   1184497201   Miklós   2812   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 
2007.07.15.   13:01:58   1184497318   Miklós   2812   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x20000019, dwRes is 20000019. 


Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84109
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2007, 02:23:42 PM »
Try Windows, Run and type:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe "E:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\setiface.dll",RunSetup

You can copy and paste the above command into the Run window.
What do you get?

All this is doing is ensuring that the setiface is correctly setup, hopefully stopping those errors.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #22 on: July 15, 2007, 02:52:26 PM »
It works, the setup is starting but at the end i get the same error messages
Here is the quite long log file :

15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Started: 15.07.2007, 14:51:03
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Running setup_av_pro-3e9 (1001)
15.07.2007 14:51:03 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 1.0 [Szervizcsomag 1]
15.07.2007 14:51:03 system: Computer WinName: SZURI
15.07.2007 14:51:03 system: Windows Net User: SZURI\Miklós
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Cmdline: /uninstwiz 
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Old version: 3e9 (1001)
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Install check: 'E:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashDisp.exe' does NOT exist
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 0
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: DldSrc set to inet
15.07.2007 14:51:03 system: Computer DnsName: szuri
15.07.2007 14:51:03 system: Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.2.104
15.07.2007 14:51:03 registry: Get registry: Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Version=6.0.2800.1106
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Operation set to INST_OP_INSTALL
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: GUID: 8737d91d-b681-42b7-ad3d-feb3daa3faa5
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: Default server pseudo definition loaded as ''.
15.07.2007 14:51:03 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'FailSafeServer' from 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:03 package: GetPackages - set proxy for inet
15.07.2007 14:51:04 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
15.07.2007 14:51:04 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
15.07.2007 14:51:04 general: Entered SetupProcessPro::Do( INST_OP_INSTALL )
15.07.2007 14:51:04 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_INSTALL )
15.07.2007 14:51:04 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_INSTALL )
15.07.2007 14:51:04 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_INSTALL )
15.07.2007 14:51:16 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
15.07.2007 14:51:16 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
15.07.2007 14:51:17 general: progress thread start
15.07.2007 14:51:17 general: progress start - 1
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: compatCopyFile( \servers.def.vpu, E:\DOCUME~1\MIKLS~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a03236\onefile ) failed with error 0x00000002
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'FailSafeServer' from 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: SelectCurrent: unable to find any suitable server in 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 internet: while trying to get file 'servers.def.vpu', error 0x00000002 has occured, try 1
15.07.2007 14:51:18 internet: tried 1 servers to get file 'servers.def.vpu', but failed (0x00000002)
15.07.2007 14:51:18 file: GetNewerStampedFile:GetFileWithRetry failed: E:\DOCUME~1\MIKLS~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a03236\onefile, servers.def.vpu, error: 0x00000002
15.07.2007 14:51:18 package: Download servers.def, servers.def.vpu failed with error 0x20000011.
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: compatCopyFile( \servers.def, E:\DOCUME~1\MIKLS~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a03236\onefile ) failed with error 0x00000002
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'FailSafeServer' from 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: SelectCurrent: unable to find any suitable server in 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 internet: while trying to get file 'servers.def', error 0x00000002 has occured, try 1
15.07.2007 14:51:18 internet: tried 1 servers to get file 'servers.def', but failed (0x00000002)
15.07.2007 14:51:18 file: GetNewerStampedFile:GetFileWithRetry failed: E:\DOCUME~1\MIKLS~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a03236\onefile, servers.def, error: 0x00000002
15.07.2007 14:51:18 package: Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 0x00000002.
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: progress end - 0
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: progress thread end
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'FailSafeServer' from 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: SelectCurrent: unable to find any suitable server in 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 internet: SYNCER: Type: Invalid
15.07.2007 14:51:18 internet: SYNCER: Auth: no authentication
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: SelectCurrent: unable to find any suitable server in 'main'
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: progress end - forced
15.07.2007 14:51:18 general: progress thread end

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84109
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #23 on: July 15, 2007, 03:44:58 PM »
Well error Windows 0x00000002 (assuming that is what it is) is "The system cannot find the file specified."

Now this follows the problems you have had with the missing ashdisp.exe, there is something killing files and I'm at a lose as to what that might be I asked you to Disable ST and I still don't know if you did that or what the result was, you never said.

The only thing I can see is that you have avast installed in a non standard location, why is this ?
This is the default location, C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #24 on: July 15, 2007, 11:49:01 PM »
1: I use as i sad ST with Avast since 2 years together there wasnt any problem. And i hardly beleave that ST doesnt disable ashdisp.exe and there isnt set any kind of files to disable. The problem that ashdisp.exe does'nt exist on my Hard Disk even if i new installed Avast.

2: Avast is in default location is for sure. May be its strange for you that its in E:\ not in C:\
    The reason of this its when i reinstalled windows i chosen E instead of C

Please only for try send me ashdisp.exe

Thanks :'(
« Last Edit: July 16, 2007, 12:24:48 PM by nicola73 »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84109
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2007, 12:37:05 AM »
1. if you don't test it you don't eliminate it.
2. I don't know if that might have an impact but probably not.

I don't see how this will help if ashdisp.exe but I will place it so you can download it, I'm not in the habit of sending exe files by email. http://rapidshare.com/files/43130970/ashDisp.exe.html
Click on the Free button, on the next page enter the letters and click the download button (ignore any payment options below, its free to download).

I would also advise removing your email from your post, it could be harvested by a spambot collecting email addresses from web pages.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2007, 12:42:28 AM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline nicola73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #26 on: July 16, 2007, 01:03:44 PM »
Hi DavidR

Its me again  ;)
So i tryed downoad from Rapidshare the ashdisp.exe. I go to the Free button and then i type the letters in the box and after a download window appears and i select a location to download but notthing happans.
But i made a discovery : if i rename in the save window the source file f.example to ashdisp(1).exe it works. But at the end i tryed to rename it back then i got "File Does'nt exist" error.
Ok. I Download it and click on it and on my system try the avast icon appears but if i go into the menu and select the "On Access Protection Control" i got the error message : "The AAVM Subsystem detected a RPC error. The operation could not completed" Then i read the FAQ and see i need go to the Control Panel->Services *%SystemRoot%\system32\services.msc /s) and the fallowing 4 items in need to set in automatic:
1. avast! Antivirus 2. avast! iAVS4 Control Service 3. avast! Mail Scanner 4. avast! Web Scanner
I made it and restarted Windows. Ashdisp (AVAS icon on system tray) dont started but the bigest problem
all my 4 setting (automatic) was set back to halt.
Please send me the ashdisp.exe to this FTP:
host: ftp.pantelweb.hu username:videomaster password:studio
thanx

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84109
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2007, 04:39:12 PM »
Done though I feel that you have other things going on with your system.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Hannu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #28 on: July 16, 2007, 05:26:02 PM »

2: Avast is in default location is for sure. May be its strange for you that its in E:\ not in C:\
    The reason of this its when i reinstalled windows i chosen E instead of C


You were previously talking about C:\Program Files\Avast4 ::) Did you reinstall avast to E:\ ? You may still have avast remnants in C:\Program files.... directory
Windows 7 Home premium 64-bit SP1 / Hitman Pro  / Macrium Reflect free

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: MY BIG AVAST PROBLEM !!!
« Reply #29 on: July 16, 2007, 08:35:27 PM »
all my 4 setting (automatic) was set back to halt.
There is another antivirus or security program that is conflicting with avast.
Or, there is an infection that is avoiding avast to be installed correctly.
Maybe it will be good to test your machine with anti-rootkit applications. I suggest AVG, Panda and/or F-Secure BlackLight.
The best things in life are free.