Author Topic: Schannel error on Windows 7  (Read 2221 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stevec5375

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Schannel error on Windows 7
« on: July 31, 2021, 12:36:55 PM »
This morning when I booted my machine and checked the Windows 7 logs I see the following error:

Source: Schannel
Event ID: 36884

The certificate received from the remote server does not contain the expected name. It is therefore not possible to determine whether we are connecting to the correct server. The server name we were expecting is hns-v6.ff.avast.com. The SSL connection request has failed. The attached data contains the server certificate.


Program version:  21.6.2474 (build 21.6.6446.561)
UI version:  1.0.655

Windows System Info
------------------------------------------------------
OS Name   Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version   6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description    Not Available
OS Manufacturer   Microsoft Corporation
System Name   STEVE-MYTH
System Manufacturer   CLEVO
System Model   P15xEMx
System Type   x64-based PC
Processor   Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz, 2401 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date   American Megatrends Inc. 1.02.17(11), 1/24/2013
SMBIOS Version   2.7
Windows Directory   C:\Windows
System Directory   C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device   \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale   United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer   Version = "6.1.7601.24545"
User Name   STEVE-MYTH\Steve
Time Zone   Central Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)   16.0 GB
Total Physical Memory   15.9 GB
Available Physical Memory   9.78 GB
Total Virtual Memory   31.8 GB
Available Virtual Memory   22.3 GB
Page File Space   15.9 GB
Page File   C:\pagefile.sys
« Last Edit: July 31, 2021, 03:44:06 PM by stevec5375 »

Offline =Snake=

  • Still using Avast Free!
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 17412
Re: Schannel error on Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2021, 01:52:19 PM »
Hi!

It would have been nice, having more information about your systen and service pack.
 ;)
=Snake=
Desktops: AMD LE1620, W7 ult SP1 [x86] | IP-4, XP pro SP3[x86] | Intel Celeron, W7 ult SP1 [x86] | AMD-Athlon 1800+, XP pro SP3, [x86] in WL |
Laptops:   HP G72 , W10 Home [x64]  v22H2 (Build 19045.2728) | Acer Aspire ES1-131, W10 Home [x64] v1511 (Build 10586.1106)|
Firefox ESR [AOS,NS,uBO,uMatrix],Thunderbird,MCShield,CCleaner,Defraggler,MBAM Free,MBAE, Avast Free Antivirus|

Offline stevec5375

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Schannel error on Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2021, 03:44:49 PM »
Hi!

It would have been nice, having more information about your systen and service pack.
 ;)
=Snake=

Done.

Offline =Snake=

  • Still using Avast Free!
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 17412
Re: Schannel error on Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2021, 04:42:31 PM »
Hi!

It would have been nice, having more information about your systen and service pack.
 ;)
=Snake=

Done.

Where can I look for it, without any link and no signature here?
Desktops: AMD LE1620, W7 ult SP1 [x86] | IP-4, XP pro SP3[x86] | Intel Celeron, W7 ult SP1 [x86] | AMD-Athlon 1800+, XP pro SP3, [x86] in WL |
Laptops:   HP G72 , W10 Home [x64]  v22H2 (Build 19045.2728) | Acer Aspire ES1-131, W10 Home [x64] v1511 (Build 10586.1106)|
Firefox ESR [AOS,NS,uBO,uMatrix],Thunderbird,MCShield,CCleaner,Defraggler,MBAM Free,MBAE, Avast Free Antivirus|

Offline chris...

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2982
Re: Schannel error on Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2021, 05:04:21 PM »
Hi!

It would have been nice, having more information about your systen and service pack.
 ;)
=Snake=

Done.

Where can I look for it, without any link and no signature here?
He edited his first post  ;)

Offline =Snake=

  • Still using Avast Free!
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 17412
Re: Schannel error on Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2021, 06:46:30 PM »
Hi!

It would have been nice, having more information about your systen and service pack.
 ;)
=Snake=

Done.

Where can I look for it, without any link and no signature here?
He edited his first post  ;)

Thanks, chris..   ::)
Desktops: AMD LE1620, W7 ult SP1 [x86] | IP-4, XP pro SP3[x86] | Intel Celeron, W7 ult SP1 [x86] | AMD-Athlon 1800+, XP pro SP3, [x86] in WL |
Laptops:   HP G72 , W10 Home [x64]  v22H2 (Build 19045.2728) | Acer Aspire ES1-131, W10 Home [x64] v1511 (Build 10586.1106)|
Firefox ESR [AOS,NS,uBO,uMatrix],Thunderbird,MCShield,CCleaner,Defraggler,MBAM Free,MBAE, Avast Free Antivirus|

Offline stevec5375

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Schannel error on Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2021, 01:55:06 PM »
Removed old text from post because this problem is still occurring. 
« Last Edit: August 08, 2021, 12:45:43 PM by stevec5375 »