Author Topic: WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan  (Read 730 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1280
WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan
« on: August 24, 2021, 08:03:55 PM »
Avast tray icon with blue dot i.e. Notification for me to go and check out.
Found two notifications of WiFi Inspector scans dated today.
I do not have automatic scans ticked, so this is both unexpected and unwanted.
How was this triggered?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7113
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2021, 08:31:18 PM »
Avast tray icon with blue dot i.e. Notification for me to go and check out.
Found two notifications of WiFi Inspector scans dated today.
I do not have automatic scans ticked, so this is both unexpected and unwanted.
How was this triggered?

Don't know how these scans are triggered, I have also seen this recently.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/250GB SSD/16GB Ram/ADU v.22.2b/VS/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/ADU v.22.2b/VS/SANDBOXIE/HotSpot Shield
 Avast Mobile Security (Android)
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86648
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2021, 09:46:21 PM »
Isn't the WiFi Inspector a resident Scanner (constantly checking WiFi connections) and not an on demand scan as such. 
What are your settings in the WiFi Inspector ?

Yes you can initiate a WiFi Inspector scan and I cant recall if it is also in the Smart Scan.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7113
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2021, 09:58:59 PM »
@ DavidR
For myself this behavior is new with no (known) changes to original settings.

EDIT: I have noticed now that a 'quick scan' entry was listed in Custom Scans which was not there before.
Wonder if a recent update has added the quick scan entry as I have not. I have removed it so see what happens in the future. :-\
I have  only one 'custom scan' scheduled (monthly full scan)
« Last Edit: August 24, 2021, 10:23:50 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/250GB SSD/16GB Ram/ADU v.22.2b/VS/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/ADU v.22.2b/VS/SANDBOXIE/HotSpot Shield
 Avast Mobile Security (Android)
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86648
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2021, 11:06:41 PM »
The original settings were that both were checked by default, I unchecked one of them.

As Far as I can recall the Quick Scan was moved to the Custom Scan section of the UI some time ago (why I have no idea).
I can also remember using the Quick Scan in the Custom Scan section as template to adjust/create a truly new Custom Scan in that section.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1280
Re: WiFi Inspector - Unscheduled scan
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2021, 06:03:29 PM »
...
EDIT: I have noticed now that a 'quick scan' entry was listed in Custom Scans which was not there before.
Wonder if a recent update has added the quick scan entry as I have not. I have removed it so see what happens in the future. :-\
I have  only one 'custom scan' scheduled (monthly full scan)
@schmidthouse. I found "Smart Scan" listed unexpectedly in Custom Scans. I have removed it to see what happens. I expect to see a "Quick Scan" which I use on odd ocassions to do a manual invoked quick scan instead of "Smart Scan". Both @DavidR and I are likeminded when it comes to "Smart Scan".

Re: @DavidR screenshot in reply#2 above. I have both items unticked.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2021, 06:05:28 PM by rocksteady »