Author Topic: new user  (Read 15077 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:new user
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2004, 03:41:25 PM »
Hihi ;D
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:new user
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2004, 04:46:17 PM »
Doesn't work for compressed archives (ZIP,RAR,CAB...), i have already tried in Home Version :P

Are you saying that if I run a scanning through this files I won't have the same results as in the Professional version?
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:new user
« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2004, 05:26:05 PM »
Nope,i tested with EICAR file and it was only detected when not inside ZIP archive (Home Edition). Pro Edition detects inside ZIP and other common archives too.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:new user
« Reply #18 on: March 01, 2004, 08:05:08 PM »
Nope,i tested with EICAR file and it was only detected when not inside ZIP archive (Home Edition). Pro Edition detects inside ZIP and other common archives too.

This should be warned in the webpage (differences between the Home and Pro version)!
Maybe I have not notice that because I use the Pro version  :-[
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:new user
« Reply #19 on: March 01, 2004, 08:14:55 PM »
There is no difference. The only difference is that in the Pro version, you can edit the Resident task (to add archive scanning to it) in the Enhanced UI. In the Home version, you obviously can't as there's no Enhanced UI.

What's unclear about this?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:new user
« Reply #20 on: March 01, 2004, 11:34:20 PM »
What's unclear about this?

For me nothing...
Definetivelly the scan capability of Home and Pro version were the same as I wrote before but some doubts appear due to the related situation of RejZor...: I tested with EICAR file and it was only detected when not inside ZIP archive (Home Edition). Pro Edition detects inside ZIP and other common archives too.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:new user
« Reply #21 on: March 01, 2004, 11:37:26 PM »
Yes, but only if he turned on archive scanning in the Resident tasks settings (in avast Enhanced UI).
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:new user
« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2004, 12:00:35 AM »
Yes, but only if he turned on archive scanning in the Resident tasks settings (in avast Enhanced UI).

Do you mean packer's settings? Why you use 'archive'?
Btw, when you choose 'all packers' the options bellow remain unchecked... I suppose they will scanned as well...
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:new user
« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2004, 07:03:34 AM »
Archives are ZIP,RAR,CAB,ACE files,application packers are UPX,ASPack and so on(you probably know this already ;) ). The second ones are scanned by Home version too,but for first one we already said how it works.
Yeah if you select "All packers" than even unchecked options below get scanned.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline maleas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • I'm a llama!
Re:new user
« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2004, 07:04:41 AM »
OK, OK, here's the thread: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=15
A million thanks! :D

Quote
But don't tell anyone ;D
My lips are sealed  :-X

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:new user
« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2004, 07:11:11 AM »
Hehe this is a secret that no one suppose to talk about ;)  :-X
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline fakeMacGyver

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re:new user
« Reply #26 on: March 05, 2004, 12:21:41 AM »
Thanks to everyone for helping me understand the software better. I really like 'avast!'  :)

Offline faffy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re:new user
« Reply #27 on: March 06, 2004, 12:45:30 PM »
Yes, but only if he turned on archive scanning in the Resident tasks settings (in avast Enhanced UI).

Does archive scanning slow the computer down considerably?

Is it recommended?

Faffy

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:new user
« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2004, 01:00:50 PM »
Yes, but only if he turned on archive scanning in the Resident tasks settings (in avast Enhanced UI).

Does archive scanning slow the computer down considerably?
Is it recommended?

Faffy

Depends!
It really slows the computer but you can run the scanning while you are not using it (screen saver module, for instance). The application must 'unpack' the archive file and scan the files. If the archive is big the computer will be stressed in some way...

But you have to enable it at least to be sure that no one file that already is infected. If you do not have RAM problems and your system has some power, you should enable the high protection (at least when you are on-line).
The best things in life are free.

Offline faffy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re:new user
« Reply #29 on: March 06, 2004, 01:12:50 PM »
I talked about on-access scanning, not on-demand scanning. I don't care how much it takes to scan my hard drives during my weekly virus scans, because it is done at nights. My question was regarding to if I enable archive scanning in the on-access module. For example, if I remember correctly Kaspersky warns you if one enables certain scanning features the computer  could suffer considerable performance problems.

Faffy