Author Topic: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration  (Read 5608 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aldian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
"ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« on: August 24, 2007, 04:19:29 PM »
Everytime I launch avast, I immediately have this error message (I am french) :



It says :

Impossible to open the peripheral or the specified file
"ecran splash avast" was unable to load the configuration

And it is like this since I install avast. (I have not registered yet, but I can't)


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2007, 05:03:07 PM »
Try a repair of avast. Add Remove programs, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Change/Remove button and scroll down to Repair, click next and follow. You need to be on-line to do this.

Have (or did) you another AV installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Aldian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2007, 07:28:11 PM »
thank you for your reply. I tried a repair and I had no problem to do it, but when I launch avast I still have the same problem.

It was the first install of avast after a format. But if you wish I can try to uninstal & reinstall?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2007, 08:17:36 PM »
Did you install avast in the default location or choose one of your own ?

Sometimes if you chose a your own location the folder name or one in the path has accented characters and this could cause a problem.

So if you try the reinstall Ensure you use the default location.
1. Download the latest version of avast http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again. Use that when you reinstall.
2. Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, find it here and save it to your HDD.
3. Now uninstall, reboot.
4. run the uninstall utility, reboot
5. install the latest version, reboot.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Aldian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2007, 08:46:54 PM »
I think you have found the problem. In fact I installed in C\Sécurité. I have others things such as my firewall installed here, so I think I would better try the reinstall

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67259
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2007, 08:52:17 PM »
C\Sécurité
avast can't be installed in folders with non-ascii (latin) characters, like the two accented é in your case.
It's a pity that the setup does not warn the user about that.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2007, 09:33:56 PM »
I think you have found the problem. In fact I installed in C\Sécurité. I have others things such as my firewall installed here, so I think I would better try the reinstall

That certainly looks like your problem a clean reinstall (as in my post above) in the default location should resolve it.

A belated welcome to the forums.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Aldian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2007, 09:47:32 PM »
OK it works perfectly now, big thanks for your help.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "ecran splash avast" unable to load configuration
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2007, 09:56:43 PM »
Your welcome.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security