Author Topic: Having problems with IE8 and avast 4.8 home  (Read 3356 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andrew vodka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Having problems with IE8 and avast 4.8 home
« on: July 25, 2009, 09:47:02 PM »
Running xp with sp3 put IE8 on and the browser will not load, so rolled back to IE7 and all okay as before, does anyone know if there is a conflict with IE8 and 4.8 home?

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Having problems with IE8 and avast 4.8 home
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2009, 11:21:06 PM »
Running xp with sp3 put IE8 on and the browser will not load, so rolled back to IE7 and all okay as before, does anyone know if there is a conflict with IE8 and 4.8 home?

IE8 works fine for me.

What are your system specifications as to CPU type and speed and amount of RAM?

IE8 needs a bit more RAM than IE7.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Andrew vodka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Having problems with IE8 and avast 4.8 home
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2009, 01:07:06 PM »
Hello, had run avg free for 3 years with IE8 on same system, all okay until avg stopped updating, removed software reloaded it but still would not update, switched to avast 3ish months ago whilst still running IE7 all okay, put IE8 on and I noticed the number of running background scanners in avast dropped from 6 to 5 with IE8 not loading, thats where I thought a conflict may be? The ram on here is not great but it ran avg and IE8 okay.

Offline onlysomeone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Having problems with IE8 and avast 4.8 home
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2009, 01:14:55 PM »
Hi Andrew vodka!

I don't think that there is a problem with avast! and IE8...

Please download and run the AVG Remover.
Then repair your installation of avast! (via the control panel --> add/remove program).
Restart your computer and check if the problem disappeared. :)

kind regards
onlysomeone