Author Topic: Vista Firewall Control  (Read 36608 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Confused Computer User

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 700
  • The answer is 42
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #45 on: May 25, 2009, 03:14:55 AM »
Thanks YoKenny and apologies for not reading the thread more carefully.

As you pointed out Bootchee's post cleared thing out.

@Bootchee
Thank you for your contribution to this thread. Your posts answered my concerns

Cheers.
Computer Systems:

Intel Pentium 4 641 / 2GB RAM / Vista Home Basic SP2 / avast! 5.0 Home / SAS Free / MBAM Free / Windows Defender / Windows Firewall / Spyware Blaster/ Secunia PSI / Firefox 3.6 / Opera 10.5

Core2Duo T8300 / 4GB RAM / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32 bit version) / Same Software.

Offline Bootchee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #46 on: May 26, 2009, 06:07:08 AM »
Thanks YoKenny and apologies for not reading the thread more carefully.

As you pointed out Bootchee's post cleared thing out.

@Bootchee
Thank you for your contribution to this thread. Your posts answered my concerns

Cheers.


I am very pleased that my contributions have been helpful.

I do kinda think that most all of us quite rightly agree that this REALLY seems to be a
program worth buying..................

but....................

all we need is some feedback from someone who has already purchased and used this program.

Since (once installed) this program DOES NOT NEED OR USE the built in vista firewall,
we plainly are pre-sold on its merits.

Now, to get confirmation as to what benefits the pay program has to offer,
BASED UPON FEEDBACK FROM A USER...... NOT from their advertisements.

At this point, I personally cannot see the (singular, I think) benefit of being able to
"categorize" the programs that I control with VistaFirewallControl being worth paying for.

If the pay part was to include something MORE of substance, I AWAIT TO BE INFORMED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One BONUS I can share with you all since my last post is that since I allowed this program to
"enable all" for my anti-viruse program, it HAS NOT PESTERED ME FOR MORE INPUTS, WAHOOOOO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


You see, prior to installing VistaFirewallControl I was using Comodo. (Really, a seriously GOOD firewall.)
Comodo asked me to approve my anti-virus request to make a new folder where it temporarily stored
a bit of data about a file I was downloading. I approved it.

Then, my anti-virus had need to create ANOTHER temporary folder for data about ANOTHER similar issue.

Etcetera, etcetera, ETCETERA, blah blah blah....................   over and over and over.
Probably, to be real, three times a day, EVERY DAY.

I just plainly got tired of it so I began to search for a firewall that would NOT PHONE HOME, nor would it
ask me REDUNTANTLY for every silly request.

By that I mean, if my anti-virus wants to create temp folders for whatever it feels necesary, I want to
APPROVE the folder being created in a cetain spot, AND ALL FUTURE SIMILAR create requests,
SO LONG AS THEY ARE IN THE SAME LOCATION, and VistaFirewallControl controls PRECISELY THAT.

I am a happy camper.

My only hang up is that the FREE edition (to me) SEEMS TO OFFER EVERYTHING I was looking for,
and if'n that's true, WHOOPEEEE, I don't need more.

but.....................(again)

I guess the "what's in it for me" question has risen within myself and I will have no problem to PAY for
more........................IF there's more for "ME".

I look forward to following this GREAT INFORMATIONAL thread.



.                    Bootchee     ;D     ::)     ;D


.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #47 on: May 27, 2009, 03:30:27 AM »
I am using the Plus update and I am not impressed.

1. It does not support my DSL router
2. It takes ages to get it to quit asking me if my trusted applications are OK
3. Their forum is not active yet as they have few members
4. I question the value of a software firewall on a well protected system

Please review the excellent video of the discussion about malware prevention:
http://www.besttechie.net/2008/08/20/malwarebytes-developer-interview <== software firewall discussion starts about 8 minutes into the video

See the discussion about Comodo:
http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/05/oh-comodo-here-we-go-again.html
http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/05/comodo-one-of-good-guys.html
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline blegs38552

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #48 on: May 28, 2009, 02:04:14 AM »
I am using this with Windows 7 RC. Aside from the annoying sound when the program needs to be updated for a new app, the free version fills my needs completely. Right now, I am running Avira free anti virus, VFC, and Windows Defender on this partition (I also have Windows VISTA with Norton IS 2009 on a separate partition). Unless I have a firm reason to think otherwise, I plan to use the combination for VISTA when my NIS subscription expires.

There seem to be some people who think that a software firewall is unnecessary.  Perhaps they are right, but I see no reason to take any chances, especially for the price.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #49 on: May 28, 2009, 02:44:33 PM »
I am using this with Windows 7 RC. Aside from the annoying sound when the program needs to be updated for a new app, the free version fills my needs completely.
You can configure avast to make no sounds, no panels, update silently...
avast is one of the most configurable antivirus round ;)
The best things in life are free.

Online bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44141
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #50 on: May 29, 2009, 12:27:51 AM »
Quote
Unless I have a firm reason to think otherwise, I plan to use the combination for VISTA when my NIS subscription expires.
There seem to be some people who think that a software firewall is unnecessary.  Perhaps they are right, but I see no reason to take any chances, especially for the price.
Why wait ?? Make sure you totally remove your old AV before you avast! or any other AV. This may help:
http://mysharedfiles.no-ip.org/TipsTricksFreeware/How2InstallAvast.html

Vista comes with a built in firewall why not usit it for now?

Welcome to the forum.  :)

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline CHORIFACE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #51 on: July 25, 2009, 08:36:32 PM »
hOLA, ACABO DE COMPRAR UNA LAPTOP Y VIENE CON WINDOWS VISTA STRATED, LE INSTALE EL AVAST HOME EDITION PERO EL FIREWALL NO LO PUEDO CONECTAR.
PFV NECESITO AYUDA PARA INSTALARLO, NO QIUERO CONECTARME A INTERNET HASTA SABER QUE ES LO QUE HA PASADO.
GACIAS POR LA AYUDA. ???

tkrbrian

  • Guest
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #52 on: July 26, 2009, 12:39:15 PM »
hi guys i am new to this forum and i love avast :) i am going to try vista firewall control soon and i will let you guys know for now i just want to say hi......... ;D

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Vista Firewall Control
« Reply #53 on: July 26, 2009, 01:15:37 PM »
***
Welcome to the forums, tkrbrian.   :)

Please come back often and learn more.


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM