Author Topic: Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)  (Read 4022 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lakrsrool

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 712
  • Get the Picture !
Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)
« on: September 02, 2007, 07:05:58 PM »
When Avast did an AVS update I got this Avast Antivirus Setup Summary message:

Information about current update:
Last encountered error: Other HTTP error (404), while trying 209.62.112.130:80//iavs4x/vpsm-77101.vpu

Total time: 7:11


I had to replace my power supply and I hadn't used my computer since August 19 which was the last Avast Antivirus Update on my computer.

When I dialed in to the internet Avast gave me the error above when trying to update the signature virus data base.

The AVS version was 000766-1 08/17 when I booted back up with the new power supply.

I then manually updated the virus data base by clicking on the AVS update option and it appears to have updated without any problem: I now have the AVS version 000771-2 9/2.

Manual update message:
Information about current update:
Total time: 2:31

- Vps: Updated
  (previous version: 000766-1, updated version: 000771-2)

Server: download92.avast.com (75.126.130.163)
Downloaded files: 7 (21.44 KB)
Download time: 22 s


I presume maybe the automatic update will work next time?  ???

Anybody have any idea what the error was about?   :-\
« Last Edit: September 02, 2007, 07:28:38 PM by lakrsrool »
Processor: i3 2.53 GHz 4 GIG RAM, OS: WIN 7, Connection: High Speed, Virus/Malware Protection: Avast-2015, SpywareBlaster, Windows Firewall & Defender. Email: Outlook 2010 w/ POP Peeper Email Notifiers.

Offline N@URINE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2007, 08:37:09 PM »
hi !
it has happened with me today, and lately.
the automatic update works most of the time, but sometimes it doesn't.
but, I think the problem is from the server, and there's nothing to worry about.
NourinE

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67199
Re: Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2007, 09:54:31 PM »
I presume maybe the automatic update will work next time?  ???
Most probably. Seems just a temporary problem while connecting to the update servers.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88142
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2007, 10:26:09 PM »
hi !
it has happened with me today, and lately.
the automatic update works most of the time, but sometimes it doesn't.
but, I think the problem is from the server, and there's nothing to worry about.

On the sometimes it doesn't score, when does this happen, e.g. shortly after boot, when ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.9.6082 (build 23.9.8494.792) UI 1.0.781/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline N@URINE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2007, 01:45:24 AM »
hi !
it has happened with me today, and lately.
the automatic update works most of the time, but sometimes it doesn't.
but, I think the problem is from the server, and there's nothing to worry about.

On the sometimes it doesn't score, when does this happen, e.g. shortly after boot, when ?


Yes, David.
NourinE

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88142
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Antivirus Setup Error (auto update of Virus database)
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2007, 03:12:08 AM »
There is a possibility that the connection although present it either isn't fully established or in some cases the firewall can block outbound activity until it is fully running (Comodo is one).

I assume you have a broadband connection, so you can delay the update check.

You need to edit the [InetWD] section of the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\avast4.ini file and add the following line:

Broadband connections, add this line: AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
Quote
[InetWD]
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120

The figure is seconds and the above equates to two minutes, you could try that and adjust upwards if required, 180, 240, etc.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.9.6082 (build 23.9.8494.792) UI 1.0.781/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security