Author Topic: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??  (Read 1837 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Flourgrader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« on: September 27, 2021, 09:39:42 AM »
Hi Guys
I ran Avast Premium Security ver 21.8
On a windows 11 PC.
The screen shot I have attached to this question is taken from a windows 10 PC.
I have attached it for clarification of the question I am going to ask.
Question:
After running Avast in windows 11 and clicking on Menu option Protection>Firewall I did not see the same screen lay out as the one shown in the attached screenshot (Windows 10).
I saw a list of installed programs on the PC and the word BLOCK at the side of the program name. I could not add any other programs which were installed on the PC. I could not access the application rules where you normally allow or block or add new rules, as the option was clearly not on the screen as an option to pick.
Has anyone got an explanation on why this should be so?
I am asking the question here because I saw this on someone else’s PC and cannot revisit their house to examine it in further detail.
Thank You…

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2021, 10:10:26 AM »
Hi, your screenshot shows the old FW design, seems your UI isn't up to date (1.0.666).
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Flourgrader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2021, 10:37:23 AM »
Thank You, Asyn, for a quick response to my question.
I read what you had to say. But my Avast says up to date?
Avast Menu>Settings>Update>CHECK FOR UPDATES
Your application is up to date?
Could you please explain in a few more words what you mean?
And how do I go about updating my UI.
Thank You…

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2021, 10:47:54 AM »
And how do I go about updating my UI.
Thank You…
Reboot twice.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Flourgrader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2021, 11:44:18 AM »
Updated and re booted twice.
I still have the same UI.
I will stick with what I have.
It does the Job OK.
That's all I ask of it.

As a side issue I could not get the Avast UI in Windows 11
to list all PC software despite trying as I wanted
to block a specific program from accessing the internet!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2021, 12:02:05 PM »
As a side issue I could not get the Avast UI in Windows 11
to list all PC software despite trying as I wanted
to block a specific program from accessing the internet!
It works fine here, but not running W11 (yet), maybe other helpers will chime in later on.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Flourgrader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2021, 12:17:47 PM »
OK TY, Asyn.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2021, 12:20:15 PM »
You're welcome.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline wahyushikifujin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2021, 03:56:01 AM »
why do I also have the latest UI update, it still looks like the old one ?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Flourgrader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Windows 10 Firewall Screen NOT the same as Windows 11__??
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2021, 03:08:25 PM »
I am running windows 11.
If my Program is not Listed in the Application Rules.
Then I need to add it which involves browsing to the location.
Adding it then setting the rules.
This new UI, I still cannot see how you add a new Group,
Then Right click on the New Group and Link it to a program that is
On your hard drive.
I have attached New_Rules.JPG which is from the Old UI,
I have also attached Rule_List.JPG which is from the New UI.
Hopefully this clarifying my question.
Can anyone give me instructions from the screenshot Rule_list.JPG how you do this?
Thank You