Author Topic: Is this caused by Avast?  (Read 2428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1816
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #15 on: October 08, 2021, 12:39:59 PM »
i just removed Avast and no change. About ready to trash the whole computer.

Hi,

It is probably related to the Let's Encrypt expired certificate issue.
Are you on Win7 or Win10?
Try to add these certificates to your device.
Step 1. (Download the certificates)
https://letsencrypt.org/certs/lets-encrypt-r3.der
https://letsencrypt.org/certs/isrgrootx1.der
https://letsencrypt.org/certs/isrg-root-x2.der

Step 2. (Import the certificates)
Open the Run app in Windows (Win+R)
Type: certmgr.msc
Click on Trusted Root Certification Authorities
Right-click on Certificates > All Tasks > Import (and follow the onscreen instructions to import them)
Restart Windows

Offline wdsellers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #16 on: October 08, 2021, 06:25:35 PM »
Can't download or get to that site. It also gives me errors.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #17 on: October 08, 2021, 08:08:44 PM »
Can't download or get to that site. It also gives me errors.

What errors, a screenshot may help.

Just clicking the first link (in firefox) shows my download option window (see attached image) so it is acting as I would expect.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline wdsellers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #18 on: October 08, 2021, 08:14:27 PM »
here you go:

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #19 on: October 08, 2021, 08:27:30 PM »
It looks like you are trying to open the file/link rather than just downloading it.

I just single clicked on the link and firefox asks if I would like to save the file, that is what I opted for. It is then saved to my default folder, I haven't tried to open it at all, but save it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline wdsellers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #20 on: October 08, 2021, 08:48:15 PM »
I did a single click and the screenshot shows the  result.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #21 on: October 08, 2021, 09:35:29 PM »
What browser are you using  ?

If you right click on the link does your browser give the option to Save Link As (mine does, see attached) or similar wording ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline wdsellers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2021, 10:34:13 PM »
I'm using Firefox and it doesnt give me that option. Took it into Edge and got this:

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2021, 12:48:35 AM »
I have the latest Firefox version 93.0 and the right click menu options haven't changed in a very long time and the Save Link as... option has been there for as long as I can remember.

I have never used Edge, I have avoided it from day one, so I can't comment on that.

But as r@vast mentioned he can connect to wsfa.com also without issue, so no avast alert either.

Something very strange going on.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline wdsellers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2021, 12:51:29 AM »
tried right click and gave same error

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2021, 03:19:20 AM »
Are you using any security based add-ons in your browsers  ?

Some such as Firefox have an option to enforce https connection and you get the occasional error if the site doesn't have https available (though this shouldn't be the issue with this site).

Your last image looks more like a windows Defender style error as windows now has checks on downloads (which I disabled to avoid possible conflict).

Other than this, I'm pretty much out of ideas.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46288
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #26 on: October 09, 2021, 01:36:53 PM »
It isn't an Avast message.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Erick872

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #27 on: October 12, 2021, 02:38:06 PM »
You can also right-click the download link for the CA certificate, select "Copy link address" and paste it in a new tab. That should allow you to download the new certificate.

Had this exact problem and this helped: https://techglimpse.com/dst-root-ca-x3-expired-certificate-error/ - the Step 6 is important because I originally imported it in a wrong folder.

Offline wdsellers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #28 on: October 12, 2021, 03:37:54 PM »
i get the same error - can't connect to that site

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72814
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Is this caused by Avast?
« Reply #29 on: October 12, 2021, 03:58:26 PM »
i get the same error - can't connect to that site
Download the certs on another device and copy them over.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0