Author Topic: Uninstalling AVG Before Installing Avast  (Read 10887 times)

pixturesk

Uninstalling AVG Before Installing Avast
« on: September 28, 2007, 01:43:27 PM »
I am an Avast newbie, not of the computer generation. Shall I uninstall AVG before installing Avast or install Avast, set it up, then uninstall AVG to continuously maintain protection? Thanks.

Offline oldman

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Uninstalling AVG Before Installing Avast
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2007, 02:01:18 PM »
Uninstall avg first. no conflicts that way. disconnect from the internet also.

Welcome to the forum.

pixturesk

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2007, 03:24:38 AM »
Thanks Oldman. Shall I disconnect from the internet even though I also am running Sygate (5.5 2710)? If so, I'll just turn the power off to my cable modem. Interesting we almost have the same computer specs, 600, 256 megs, Win98SE, Firefox is my default browser, IE6 SP1, OE6. I guess you're as happy as I am continuing to run Win98SE.

Offline oldman

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2007, 10:18:37 AM »
Powering off the modem is fine. I only suggested that, because there is that brief time before avast finishes installing that you might be vulnerable. Even with sygate set to block all, it may not start before a connection is made.

Yes very similar sytems. 98se serves my purpose very well. But it's days may be numbered as more and more security programs are dropping it. Avast, though is not one of those.  ;D  8) BTW this box does run xp pro very well.

pixturesk

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2007, 01:02:20 PM »